We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed, excellent in every way.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed, excellent in every way.”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were so glad that we stayed here, exceptional in every way,
Its clear that John & Chris have put there previous experience to good use.
Warm, friendly welcome, lovely decorated rooms with top quality en-suite shower.
Breakfast choice of cereals, fruits or cooked excellent, do try the eggs benedict, yummy.
Attention to detail to make you feel special, would highly recommend and revisit.
No contest regarding '4 in a bed' award it was well deserved.
Nice quiet location for good nights sleep, car parking on front or road but no problem.
Great restaurant few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayleybell9, Owner at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We never ask our guests to write reviews so when they take the trouble to do so,we know they really enjoyed themselves. We loved meeting you and its good to get great feedback, as we both love running our B & B .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
260
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

A very warm welcome from the lovely owners... Room was beautifully furnished and clean... Though we did not have the weather on our side, we still had a wonderful stay! Breakfast truly to die for - fresh fruit, smoothies, and the best eggs benedict I have ever tasted! Highly recommended for indulgents weekends by the sea.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

As confirmed expats for the last 35 years, we have gotten to stay at many B&B's when visiting England - from the very good down to the "OMG, I'm not staying here another night!" Having seen this one win '4 in a Bed' on channel 4 last year, our expectations were high before we arrived. Our expectations were far exceeded and over the 6 days we stayed there, we discussed where it would rank in all our B&B experiences and there was really no contest - it was simply the best. Our hosts, John & Chris were absolutely charming and everything was done to perfection, from the rooms to the breakfasts. The beds were so comfortable that I had difficulty getting my wife up in the morning. My only critisism was the weak electric shower in our en-suite, but this is a common fault in UK B&B's.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9Archangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Chris & John were lovely hosts, very friendly & welcoming. It is a beautiful house, & tastefully decorated. Our room was clean, very comfy, with everything you could wish for. Bottled water, selection of tea, coffee etc. with fridge outside door for a jug of fresh milk. Dressing gowns were provided , plenty of mirrors in bedroom & bathroom, & flat screen TV. Breakfast was divine! Besides a choice of 4 different times, there was a great choice of friut, muesli etc. & a delicious cooked breakfast.
A five/ten min walk to the ferry took you to either Christchurch or Mudeford, not to be missed!The walk into Bournemouth itself was a bit long, but fine with comfy shoes.
Room 4 at the front has noise from bins on a Mon, but not too much of a prob as it is about 7.15 am.

Room Tip: Room 4 at the front has noise from bins on a Mon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I was staying in the area on business but left feeling as if I had been on holiday! I had a choice of room - both beautifully decorated. Peaceful sleep, comfortable room, everything I needed was there to hand.
Breakfast was the best I have ever had! Insist that John cooks his fried bread. Homemade marmalade and damson jam finished the whole experience.
I have already booked for next years conference and will be bringing my partner with me for a holiday.
If you are going to the area do not miss this gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackieandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Came to B&BbytheB with my Mother for a 3 day break over the bank holiday weekend. When we arrived John and Chris (owners) were having a Royal Garden Party, to which we were welcomed. Most surprising and thoroughly enjoyable. Chris and John are the most hospitable hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. Very professional yet with a personal and friendly touch ensured our stay was extra special.
My Mother had a beautiful King Sized room. Tastefully decorated, lots of lovely little touches (bath robes, quality biscuits, wine glasses, cork screw etc.,) Nice sized shower room en suite. My bedroom was next door (room 2) beautiful comfortable bed (more comfortable than my one at home!) Fantastic new shower. There is a fridge on the landing which has fresh milk for drinks and where you can store your wine!
There is a large selection of DVD's and books to borrow.
Breakfast! Breakfasts are as good if not better than most 4 or 5* hotels. Fresh fruit (raspberries, strawberries, pineapple, massive blueberries) homemade marmalade and damson jam, eggs Benedict, smoked salmon, full English, toast, croissants...gorgeous. Lovely bright breakfast area. Strong coffee, a range of teas. Perfect.
that instead of going to stay in my usual Mal Maison for my birthday, I could write quite a few pages about how good Bed and Breakfast by the beach is, however, the fact that instead of going to stay in my usual Mal Maison or other hotel for my birthday, I have booked to come back in July, with my husband. Can't wait!

Room Tip: All the rooms (4) are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my birthday / Easter getaway and from the time we arrived to the time we left, we were made to feel like first class guests, John & Chris were friendly, welcoming and went out there way to make us feel comfortable. The room was superb with all the mod cons and special little touches. The beach was a 10 minute walk away and Bournemouth was a 20 minute bus journey away, everything was within easy reach. We will definitely be staying here again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJG5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,863 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. Voted by Tripadvisor reviewers as 5th best B & B / Inn 2016 UK & 13th best in the world 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing