We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff. Food ok. What's with the silverskin onions?”

Alexanders Restaurant
Ranked #525 of 736 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The award winning and luxuriously decorated restaurant in The Queens Hotel can comfortably seat up to 220 guests, each one invited to savour and enjoy the imaginative menu. Many of the dishes use local fresh produce and are prepared superbly to the highest standards of quality by the Executive Chef, which are then all enhanced with a selection of hand-picked wines from around the world. Along with the highly commended and accommodating staff, the restaurant has won many awards, resulting in an enviable reputation for culinary excellence. The garden room, lounge and bar radiate a charming and relaxing ethos, accompanied by a splendid choice of wines, beers and spirits. This feeling can also entice people into the garden during bright days, where you can enjoy the sun and the delightful drinks of the bar.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff. Food ok. What's with the silverskin onions?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

DINNER: Good service and friendly staff. Food was OK, but wouldn't rave about it. We had a fish mousse that was creamy, but lacked flavour. They seemed to have a Christmas turkey dinner on the menu, which was a little freaky for September, but seemed to be quite good. My fish dish was tasty and vegetables nicely al dente, but did not understand why there were silverskin onions in with them - highly unusual and didn't really work. Watercress used as garnish for a few dishes was very tasty.

I wasn't sure what the dessert was I had (sort of buffet affair), but it was creamy, fruity and tasted pretty good.

BREAKFAST: Good mix of cereals and cooked breakfast. Perfect eggs. But - with muesli, these days in other hotels I usually have seeds and nuts to add - seriously missing. Plus, bacon needs to be cooked for longer and the toasters - seriously, you have to send through twice to get a piece of decently toasted bread. And no danish. But again - fab staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graycee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at Alexanders Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Restaurant.

I have passed you kind comments about the service on to the team. I do not understand from reading your comments why you were not more favourable about your meal, as you found our offerings ‘tasty’, ‘good’ and ‘perfect’.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brixworth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back in time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The food was good.The service was a little slow.The decor was in keeping with days gone by!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank brick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at Alexanders Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Restaurant.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meal. I am sorry that we did not serve you fast enough, we are normally very conscientious about timings and I am disappointed that we let you down in this respect.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food Service and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Went there with my parents and my son for Mother's Day. Excellent choice of food perfectly cooked. Included 4 courses and coffee which was great value. Excellent friendly service in pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mude211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at Alexanders Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Restaurant.

I have passed your kind words on to the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

it was just about okay because we were there with friends we made the best of it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank UkGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at Alexanders Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
I am sorry we could not inspire you with the cuisine and service to write anything more uplifting and informative.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatdham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very good hot food. Staff were very attentive and made you feel special. Good breakfast.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dowding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at Alexanders Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Restaurant.

I have passed your kind words on to the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexanders Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Alexanders Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing