We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay.”
Review of Waves In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves In
Ranked #34 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very warm and friendly greeting by the owner. Made coffee for us straight away. Took us up to
our room, very nicely decorated to a beach theme. Fabulous sized bed, so comfortable and lovely
clean bed linen. T.V. in room has built in dvd player and there is a good selection of dvd's to borrow in the entrance lobby, a nice touch. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room plus a
large bottle of water. The breakfast area was warm and inviting only surpassed by the excellent
breakfast. We will definitely stay here again when we come up to visit our Son next.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. Wea are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

As soon as we arrived and was met by the lovely Val we knew the kind of pleasant stay we were in for. The coffee is just what we needed after a long trip and to be shown to your room rather than "Here's the key......" a nice touch. You felt she was really proud of her establishment and so she should be. We were also handed a very well prepared Hotel Info booklet as well as a Welcome Pack including info on Boscombe, Places to eat, local transport etc.

Room 1 was massive with a comfortable Superking Bed and decor was well themed and very clean. TV with DVD (a vast selection was available to borrow). A single bed is also in the room which was on standby if I snored too loudly in the wife's ear. A great night's sleep.

Now for the all important Breakfast...First Class Full English cooked by Val's son and the homemade bread. We're renamed it 'Val's Pride', a tasty start to the day.

One major downside was we had only the one night..but in the word's the Terminator 'I'll be back".

Room Tip: One minor downside for some maybe the bathroom/Toilet which in for the sole use of the Room 1, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We have taken note of your room tip and we have now put dressing gowns in the room. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a lovely little place, we were met at door by Donna who showed us straight to our room so we could dump our mountain of baggage. A cot had already been set out for little un without us even asking for one, saved the complex procedure of erecting our own.
The room was lovely and clean and very bright, the decor reflects the proximity of the sea and is very tastefully done. The room had everything we needed, especially a well needed cup of tea. Linen, towels etc were on a par with top chain hotels, towels in fact were bigger so were a welcome surprise.
We were supplied with a lovely information kit for the local area with maps, attractions, restaurants etc which was great. Boscombe beach is about a 10 min walk along quiet roads, a Harvester is on the seafront so perfect for dinner.
A great nights sleep ended with a superb full English breakfast served up by the amazing Val who is a treasure herself, the meat is locally bought not from the Supermarket and it shows & Val makes her own bread which is devine.
If you are heading to Bournemouth then you have to stay here, the personal touch from Des, Donna & Val makes this a home from home. The hotel is lovely and clean, they are working to put their touch on all the rooms which will take a little longer but it will be well worth it. Thanks guys...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davehedgehog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay, so we really appreciate it when guests leave reviwes. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is so lovely. Theres three people running it, and the slightly elderly lady that has the main resposibility for the hotel is the lovliest woman i have ever met. It didnt feel like i walked into a hotel, it felt like I walked straight into my own home, only there was someone taking care of me all the time. I just loved the place, the food and the people and its not far off from other beautiful places to visit, like Bournemouth.

Room Tip: There is only one floor, and the rooms are pretty quiet. We slept in room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToraKMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic little place to stay, friendly hosts, clean comfortable rooms tastefully decorated and a top notch cooked breakfast with home made bread!, Val is very welcoming and informative, the hotel is set just away from the hustle and bustle yet easy to reach all amenities, the beach is a short walk through a lovely park. We shall be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay, so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviwes to confirm they have. It was great meeting you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a wonderful time! Was searching rather last minute for somewhere decent in Bournemouth & was put off by all the horror stories. I was lucky in the Park Hotel/Waves In – friendly owners, bright décor, nice rooms. Complementary water & toiletries in the room. Folder of leaflets about the area. Books & DVDs we could borrow. Lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank commandervimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews to confirm they have. It was great to meet you and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I booked for one night only as I was in the area to see my sister who had recently moved to Bournemouth. 'The Wave In' is a perfect place for a solo traveller to stay. Val gave me a great warm welcome and was most informative and helpful re local buses and information as to where to eat. The rooms are most attractively decorated and my room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with the beach theme. The bed was OK, not as comfortable as my excellent mattress at home. Very good breakfast with fresh fruit, a pot of tea (seconds were offered), home-made bread toasted, choice of cereals, fruit juices. I didn't have the cooked breakfast. The only gripe was the shower was only just warm enough and took ages to even get to that temperature, but I understand there had been a recent problem, caused by a plumber's visit for something else. Both bathrooms need updating but the hotel has been improved during the last year - I guess this will also be done in time.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily return soon for my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RosDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a nice review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay, so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews to confirm they have.
We are replacing the beds and mattress's that need to be replaced in the new year, and the bathrooms will also be updated. Sorry about the water, we have had a few issues when the water board started work on the street, but with work finished and the new showers being fitted this will be rectifide.
It was great meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#13 of 131 in Bournemouth
457 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 131 in Bournemouth
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,655 reviews
1.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $52 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing