We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best e experiance I've ever had”
Review of Waves In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves In
Ranked #26 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
“The best e experiance I've ever had”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is so lovely. Theres three people running it, and the slightly elderly lady that has the main resposibility for the hotel is the lovliest woman i have ever met. It didnt feel like i walked into a hotel, it felt like I walked straight into my own home, only there was someone taking care of me all the time. I just loved the place, the food and the people and its not far off from other beautiful places to visit, like Bournemouth.

Room Tip: There is only one floor, and the rooms are pretty quiet. We slept in room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToraKMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews. It was great to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
41
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic little place to stay, friendly hosts, clean comfortable rooms tastefully decorated and a top notch cooked breakfast with home made bread!, Val is very welcoming and informative, the hotel is set just away from the hustle and bustle yet easy to reach all amenities, the beach is a short walk through a lovely park. We shall be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay, so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviwes to confirm they have. It was great meeting you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a wonderful time! Was searching rather last minute for somewhere decent in Bournemouth & was put off by all the horror stories. I was lucky in the Park Hotel/Waves In – friendly owners, bright décor, nice rooms. Complementary water & toiletries in the room. Folder of leaflets about the area. Books & DVDs we could borrow. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank commandervimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews to confirm they have. It was great to meet you and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I booked for one night only as I was in the area to see my sister who had recently moved to Bournemouth. 'The Wave In' is a perfect place for a solo traveller to stay. Val gave me a great warm welcome and was most informative and helpful re local buses and information as to where to eat. The rooms are most attractively decorated and my room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with the beach theme. The bed was OK, not as comfortable as my excellent mattress at home. Very good breakfast with fresh fruit, a pot of tea (seconds were offered), home-made bread toasted, choice of cereals, fruit juices. I didn't have the cooked breakfast. The only gripe was the shower was only just warm enough and took ages to even get to that temperature, but I understand there had been a recent problem, caused by a plumber's visit for something else. Both bathrooms need updating but the hotel has been improved during the last year - I guess this will also be done in time.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily return soon for my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RosDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a nice review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay, so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews to confirm they have.
We are replacing the beds and mattress's that need to be replaced in the new year, and the bathrooms will also be updated. Sorry about the water, we have had a few issues when the water board started work on the street, but with work finished and the new showers being fitted this will be rectifide.
It was great meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff at this family-run hotel. Fried eggs done to perfection! In fact, they specialise in healthy home-cooked food. Great beach-hut themed decoration in breakfast room. Some rooms a bit tired but don't let this put you off - the family have only recently taken over the business and are gradually doing it up, are incredibly accommodating, have excellent local knowledge, and some fantastic ideas (like their 'boot camp' weekends). Short walk downhill through the park to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back, or maybe we will see you on one of our Beach Boot Camp Weekends :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, me, my husband and our 2 & 3 year old.
It was lovely!
Val made the weekend break so stress free, she told us places we could go to, where we could eat and what we could do.
Breakfast was great.
The room was beautiful, really high ceilings, lots of light from the huge bay window and plenty of room for the 4 of us in the one family room.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a great stay here for 2 nights this week with my daughter and 9 yr old grand daughter who now wants to redecorate her bedroom to match the family room we stayed in!. clean, very welcoming and great breakfast. loved all the little seaside touches around the place.Would have preferred the en suite to have been directly accessed from our room instead of across the hall, but it didnt spoil the stay. Great location and really handy for a walk through Boscombe Chine ( really pretty and well kept) straight on to the beach, which is much better than crowded old Bournemouth.Plenty of free parking in the road in front of the Hotel. Host Val, greeted us by name and tea/coffee supplies were good.. including ground coffee not just the usual instant. Nice supply of books and DVDs available too.

Room Tip: view from room 2 good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your grand daughter has taken inspiration from our decorations.

It was very nice to meet you all and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Bay Guest House
Sandy Bay Guest House
#34 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#42 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#43 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#7 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Property: Waves In
Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing