We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waves In (Park Hotel)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waves In

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waves In
Ranked #28 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Waves In (Park Hotel)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a wonderful time! Was searching rather last minute for somewhere decent in Bournemouth & was put off by all the horror stories. I was lucky in the Park Hotel/Waves In – friendly owners, bright décor, nice rooms. Complementary water & toiletries in the room. Folder of leaflets about the area. Books & DVDs we could borrow. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank commandervimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews to confirm they have. It was great to meet you and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
41
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I booked for one night only as I was in the area to see my sister who had recently moved to Bournemouth. 'The Wave In' is a perfect place for a solo traveller to stay. Val gave me a great warm welcome and was most informative and helpful re local buses and information as to where to eat. The rooms are most attractively decorated and my room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with the beach theme. The bed was OK, not as comfortable as my excellent mattress at home. Very good breakfast with fresh fruit, a pot of tea (seconds were offered), home-made bread toasted, choice of cereals, fruit juices. I didn't have the cooked breakfast. The only gripe was the shower was only just warm enough and took ages to even get to that temperature, but I understand there had been a recent problem, caused by a plumber's visit for something else. Both bathrooms need updating but the hotel has been improved during the last year - I guess this will also be done in time.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily return soon for my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RosDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a nice review. We are pleased you loved our place and what we do. We are really focussed on making sure our guests enjoy their stay, so we really appreciate it when quests leave reviews to confirm they have.
We are replacing the beds and mattress's that need to be replaced in the new year, and the bathrooms will also be updated. Sorry about the water, we have had a few issues when the water board started work on the street, but with work finished and the new showers being fitted this will be rectifide.
It was great meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff at this family-run hotel. Fried eggs done to perfection! In fact, they specialise in healthy home-cooked food. Great beach-hut themed decoration in breakfast room. Some rooms a bit tired but don't let this put you off - the family have only recently taken over the business and are gradually doing it up, are incredibly accommodating, have excellent local knowledge, and some fantastic ideas (like their 'boot camp' weekends). Short walk downhill through the park to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back, or maybe we will see you on one of our Beach Boot Camp Weekends :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, me, my husband and our 2 & 3 year old.
It was lovely!
Val made the weekend break so stress free, she told us places we could go to, where we could eat and what we could do.
Breakfast was great.
The room was beautiful, really high ceilings, lots of light from the huge bay window and plenty of room for the 4 of us in the one family room.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days,and loved it. We have always struggled to find accommodation in the Bournemouth/Poole area of even an acceptable standard...but this B & B does it 110% for us.
From the initial greetings from Val,to the lovely room...an oasis of calm!! Comfy superking bed, easy to park off-road, small garden to sit in, yet so close to bus routes or a 5min walk through Boscombe Chine down to the sea and pier.Freshly cooked breakfast was lovely.We were pointed in the direction of eateries-which are within a 10min stroll,as is the main shopping area, and your own key lets you come and go at will. The B & B takes some finding on the internet-it was only luck we spotted it, but we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky/worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words.

Thank you for letting us know that it tricky finding us on the internet, it is something that we are now looking in to.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a great stay here for 2 nights this week with my daughter and 9 yr old grand daughter who now wants to redecorate her bedroom to match the family room we stayed in!. clean, very welcoming and great breakfast. loved all the little seaside touches around the place.Would have preferred the en suite to have been directly accessed from our room instead of across the hall, but it didnt spoil the stay. Great location and really handy for a walk through Boscombe Chine ( really pretty and well kept) straight on to the beach, which is much better than crowded old Bournemouth.Plenty of free parking in the road in front of the Hotel. Host Val, greeted us by name and tea/coffee supplies were good.. including ground coffee not just the usual instant. Nice supply of books and DVDs available too.

Room Tip: view from room 2 good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your grand daughter has taken inspiration from our decorations.

It was very nice to meet you all and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just back from 2 nights at this delightful B&B. I stayed in the family room with a double and single bed. I was a little apprehensive about how cramped the room might be with taking a toddler and all the stuff that goes with it but was pleasantly surprised. The hostess Val was very accommodating of my 2 year old, the bedroom was nice and the separate bathroom across the hall (for our sole use) was compact but laid out well enough to be able to bath my child with ease. Breakfast was fresh and good quality, the home made bread was a very nice touch. Not 5* for décor throughout at the moment but the owners are clearly making improvements all the time and have only been there a year so I think this place is an up and coming little gem. I couldn't fault the place for cleanliness of bedding, linen and bathrooms. Off road parking at the back was easy to find and safe, easy to walk round the back of the hotel if you have a buggy or can't manage the steps at the front. Location very good in my opinion, out the way enough to be quiet but within 3 mins you are at the main road where you can catch a bus to Boscombe centre or Bournemouth and 5 mins walk through lovely Boscombe Chine gardens straight to the beach at Boscombe Pier. At the pier you can catch the little land train along the sea front to Bournemouth which was my toddlers highlight. Over all I would definitely recommend this as a good value, clean place to stay. My only requests would be a bigger bin in the bathroom for nappies and a box of tissues in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1, ground floor so you can leave your child to sleep with the window open and be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are in the process of decorating and replacing items, but with the high season, we have had to put a stop to that for now!

We have taken note about bigger bins for the family rooms and we hope to be putting them in place soon.

It was very nice to meet you, your mum and of course your little boy. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Bay Guest House
Sandy Bay Guest House
#36 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#44 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#45 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#72 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Property: Waves In
Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing