We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Waves In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves In
Ranked #29 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

You'll be sure of a warm welcome at the Park Hotel when you are greeted on your arrival by Val. I enjoyed a very comfortable stay recently and will certainly be looking for a return visit later in the year. The location is perfect wiithin easy reach of Boscombe town centre, the seafront and there is frequent bus service to the centre of Bournemouth and to Poole with the bus stop just around the corner by the park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
41
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Val greeted us at the door with a big smile, after showing us the breakfast room we were taken to our room which was on the ground floor. Although the room didn't have an ensuite, we had our own bathroom just down the hall, which was not a problem. The building is old but the room was clean, the bed was king size and very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv with built in DVD player and a good range of DVD's available as well as several board games. The premises is licenced and the breakfast room became a bar area for visitors in the evening.
5 minutes walk to Boscombe pier and a further mile to Bournemouth jetty.
What this hotel lacked in modernisation was more than made up by the friendly and helpful assistance given by Val. Would recommend this for anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauilnes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for you kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was very nice to meet you.
We are in the process of modernising the hotel but with being a old and large building it's taking a bit of time.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in Bournemouth for a weekend away, its a really cute b&b. The bed was large (two beds pushed together) but super soft and had a great sleep, it came with tea/coffee/water/biscuits - really nice touches, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately we had the shared bathroom, which needs to be touched up, and was the only downer.
Val, the hostess is lovely and very friendly and really raises the standard of The Park, the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feijoa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have just decorated the large shared bathroom and put new floor and and shower in.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely time, the food was delicious and we felt very welcome. The girls (aged 2,6,9) loved it and wanted to stay longer, Val was extremely good with the children and made us all feel at home. We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginasmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our visit to this small but delightful hotel will always be remembered for the warmth of the welcome and friendliness of the host (Val), My wife and I along with our 10 year old son booked in for a short stay over night 6th to 7th April 2013.

We were in the area for a mini rugby tournament (our son was playing at under 10.s) our book in time was 15:00, however as the games were ahead of schedule I phoned to request an early book in, this was immediately agreed and we arrived very muddy and ready for a shower, Coffee was provided as we arrived and we were greeted by Val, a warm and genial host who showed us to our room and nothing was too much trouble.

The room was freshly decorated, warm and large.

When Val knew we were playing rugby again the next morning she volunteered to provide a fully cooked breakfast, 1 hour prior to the usual Sunday breakfast time.

We will definitely stay there again for next years tournament.

To Val and her family thank you very much

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with great pleasure. On arrival we recieved a very warm welcome and after half an hour we couldn't help but feel at home.
The owners and staff were very eager to please and could not do enough for us.
The rooms were very clean and (with the high ceilings) seemed rather large. The hotel is in a great location, its not too close to the town centre but only a 2/3 minute taxi drive (10/15 minute walk) if you wanted to go.
I would deffinatley stay here again and actually cant wait to go down during the summer.
Thank You!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrislollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we had an excellent family stay and our room, which was very comfy and plenty of space.

It was a relaxing, friendly and welcoming atmosphere for our 2 boys (aged 2 and 4), which isn't always the case in other places we have stayed. our boys loved chatting to Val in the morning and there is a wide selection of breakfast to even keep the most demanding child happy!!

it is a short walk to the beach and we are already planning a stay for the airshow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 132 in Bournemouth
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#44 of 132 in Bournemouth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#35 of 132 in Bournemouth
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Property: Waves In
Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing