We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, really friendly”
Review of Waves In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves In
Ranked #38 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Val greeted us at the door with a big smile, after showing us the breakfast room we were taken to our room which was on the ground floor. Although the room didn't have an ensuite, we had our own bathroom just down the hall, which was not a problem. The building is old but the room was clean, the bed was king size and very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv with built in DVD player and a good range of DVD's available as well as several board games. The premises is licenced and the breakfast room became a bar area for visitors in the evening.
5 minutes walk to Boscombe pier and a further mile to Bournemouth jetty.
What this hotel lacked in modernisation was more than made up by the friendly and helpful assistance given by Val. Would recommend this for anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauilnes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for you kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was very nice to meet you.
We are in the process of modernising the hotel but with being a old and large building it's taking a bit of time.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 141 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in Bournemouth for a weekend away, its a really cute b&b. The bed was large (two beds pushed together) but super soft and had a great sleep, it came with tea/coffee/water/biscuits - really nice touches, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately we had the shared bathroom, which needs to be touched up, and was the only downer.
Val, the hostess is lovely and very friendly and really raises the standard of The Park, the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feijoa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have just decorated the large shared bathroom and put new floor and and shower in.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely time, the food was delicious and we felt very welcome. The girls (aged 2,6,9) loved it and wanted to stay longer, Val was extremely good with the children and made us all feel at home. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginasmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our visit to this small but delightful hotel will always be remembered for the warmth of the welcome and friendliness of the host (Val), My wife and I along with our 10 year old son booked in for a short stay over night 6th to 7th April 2013.

We were in the area for a mini rugby tournament (our son was playing at under 10.s) our book in time was 15:00, however as the games were ahead of schedule I phoned to request an early book in, this was immediately agreed and we arrived very muddy and ready for a shower, Coffee was provided as we arrived and we were greeted by Val, a warm and genial host who showed us to our room and nothing was too much trouble.

The room was freshly decorated, warm and large.

When Val knew we were playing rugby again the next morning she volunteered to provide a fully cooked breakfast, 1 hour prior to the usual Sunday breakfast time.

We will definitely stay there again for next years tournament.

To Val and her family thank you very much

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with great pleasure. On arrival we recieved a very warm welcome and after half an hour we couldn't help but feel at home.
The owners and staff were very eager to please and could not do enough for us.
The rooms were very clean and (with the high ceilings) seemed rather large. The hotel is in a great location, its not too close to the town centre but only a 2/3 minute taxi drive (10/15 minute walk) if you wanted to go.
I would deffinatley stay here again and actually cant wait to go down during the summer.
Thank You!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrislollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we had an excellent family stay and our room, which was very comfy and plenty of space.

It was a relaxing, friendly and welcoming atmosphere for our 2 boys (aged 2 and 4), which isn't always the case in other places we have stayed. our boys loved chatting to Val in the morning and there is a wide selection of breakfast to even keep the most demanding child happy!!

it is a short walk to the beach and we are already planning a stay for the airshow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

You couldn't wish for a warmer welcome. From the moment you arrive at the Park Hotel it feels like a home away from home. Whether you're staying short term or long term I don't think you'll be disappointed with this hotel .
The rooms are lovely - well furnished, comfortable and very homely. All the essentials you could need.
Breakfast is delicious with a wide range of choice on offer. From light breakfasts to full English - Yummy!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaCThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#13 of 131 in Bournemouth
457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dolphins Hotel
Dolphins Hotel
#66 of 131 in Bournemouth
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#37 of 131 in Bournemouth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $49 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing