We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful”
Review of Carisbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carisbrooke Hotel
Ranked #56 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cheerful”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here whilst we were on a hen night in Bournemouth, there was other hen party's and stag do's staying so was the place to stay. come and go as you please. the rooms were clean, but very squashed in. there was 5 of us in one bedroom and we could have got 6, with the bunk bed! but it was somewhere to rest our head after a night out, breakfast was brilliant, cooked breakfast, cereal, whatever you wanted. Staff were very attentive. would stay again on a group outing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    65
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
46
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at the Carisbrooke.
We would like to thank NIck and his staff for making this a pleasant stay.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming, making it an enjoyable relaxed atmosphere.
The Hotel is located about 7 minutes walk from the beach, gardens and pier.
Nick will gladly point you in the right direction for eating out and for other activities.
Full English breakfast is available accompanied by fruit juices, cereals, ham and cheese.
All very tasty and cooked fresh!
We had a family room (a double and a single bed), which was spacious and clean.
There was a freeview TV and DVD, large wardrobe - so plenty of storage space, unlike some Hotels abroad, we have stayed in recently.
The room also had an en suite, which we think was built when Adam was still a lad.
This needs updating, but I believe that this is planned for the near future.
Having said that, it was functional and wasn't a problem for us.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay, made by the caring staff (why is it so many other Hotels have a grumpy attitude towards their paying guests), so, I'm sure, we will definitely return.
Once again, many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astarkey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After 3 days sitting in a muddy field in the New Forest, camping with 2 kids and the mother in law enjoying the wettest June since records began, we decided to abandon the attempt due to cold and loss of will to live. Plan B, we headed to Bournmouth with a car full of wet gear and cold wet and miserable people. By chance driving around late evening, we saw a car parking place and vacancy sign at this hotel. 30 mins later, we were in a warm, spotlessly clean room, with happy kids and a warm mother in law. Nick the owner dried out all our gear for us out back, and fed and watered us (great little bar). During our three day stay he gave us tons of info on best places to see and even got us free entrance to the motor museum at Beaulieu. In short, if ever you need a place to stay in Bournmouth, try this place out. Clean, neat, inexpensive and most of all friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just stayed here with a hen party, & we were pleasantly surprised. We had a super clean room, & the staff were friendly & courteous. As we expected, it was a bit noisy & raucous with some other hen & stag parties, but we were expecting this so it didn't bother us at all. Great for a short stay. Ps the Valentino Italian restaurant nearby is great, lovely food & great friendly service.

Room Tip: Get a taxi to town if you're wearing heels, there are hills galore!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beauty-on-the-fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Carisbrooke on Wednesday 23rd of May on our way to Cornwall. The receptionist, Handan, is very friendly and very helpfull. We had a lovely room facing the street and everything was spotless. Handan also told us where to go for a meal and places to visit. The English Breakfast was delicious and alot of it. The Hotel is in a great location and just minutes away from the beach and the city centre. Being from South Africa (with our very weak rand) it was absolute value for money. Will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A quaint and lovely hotel. It is basic but clean and the family that run it were very welcoming and accomodating. The full English breakfast was also very good. The hotel is cheap in price and is very good for the money paid. I would stay again.
If I must pick fault it would be the fact that the decor and bathroom in room is in need of an update.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireKnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a budget friendly little hotel with a great location smack dab between the beach and the city core, easy wallking distance to anything. The owners and desk staff were extremely helpful and sweet. The rooms are a bit down on their luck but are clean, have comfortable beds and room fans. The first room we stayed in smelt terribly of smoke despite it being a non smoking hotel, it seemed to coming in throught the ventilation in the bathroom. The staff quickly found another room for us and moved our bags while we were out for the day. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend for the good value, service and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Bonnington Beach Hotel
#118 of 132 in Bournemouth
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Liza Inn
Liza Inn
#48 of 132 in Bournemouth
210 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#38 of 132 in Bournemouth
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#23 of 132 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Hotel

Property: Carisbrooke Hotel
Address: 42 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly hotel superbly located within a short walking distance of the beach, Bournemouth International Centre and the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carisbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing