We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carisbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carisbrooke Hotel
Ranked #50 of 145 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The pictures on the website of the rooms are nothing like what they are. 2 of us had made a reservation, we clearly indicated we wanted a room each and the staff attempted to persuade us to go into 1 room. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was very helpful advising us where to go, how to get into the town and where to eat etc. She also advised us that as we stay at the hotel we get free entrance into one of the towns biggest nightclubs which we were happy with, but when we left to go to the town and asked another receptionist she told us that they had no tickets for it which was disappointing. The wall paper was falling off in one of the rooms where the towel rail looked as though it was going to fall off, there was a hole in the bed linen, the curtain rail was also broken in one of the rooms. The hotel has an on site licensed bar which we were told opens at 12pm and closes at 12 am, we went to have an afternoon drink at 4pm and had to wait 10 minutes to be served, not because it was busy but because the receptionist has to come in to serve you, when we finally got served we had to wait another 5 minutes because there was no ice or lemonade. We couldn't understand why there was no bar person as the notice on the door said hotel full so personally I think they should have been ready for customers. the beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. Breakfast is served 8.30 - 10am, we walked into the restaurant were told to sit anywhere so we sat by the window and the waitress approached us asking us not to sit there and to move, we were offered drinks and then asked wether we were ready for our cooked breakfast. We weren't offered any alternative I.e wether there was a vegetarian option. When breakfast arrived it consisted of 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 over cooked egg, over cooked beans, 1 hash brown and a slice of toast. Overall I don't think the stay was worth £40 per room per night, there is a lot of competition in Bournemouth and I think this hotel has a lot of work to do if they want to keep their heads
Above water

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotel, Owner at Carisbrooke Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us although I am pleased that you found the beds very comfortable, the staff helpful and you comment on good cleanliness.

We like to check that guests are happy, as we did with you, just after check-in and again on check-out. We are sorry that you did not mention any issues then as our helpful staff would have done all they could do to improve the experience for you during your stay.

We also strive to maintain high housekeeping standards so I am sorry that these were not met in one of your rooms. We have taken your comments on board and rectified all the issues that you mentioned.

To address some particular points in your review:

1. At check-in your group number had dropped from 4 to 2 girls for your double and twin rooms. Apologies if you misunderstood our intention, but we planned to save you money and refund the other room if you wished to share one room. It is not our usual policy to accept cancellations last minute but we thought, in the circumstances, it would be a kind gesture of goodwill.

2. There was a breakdown in communication between two of our staff for which I apologise. We offered you free entry to a popular nightspot when you checked-in. We then discovered that our supply of free entry tickets had run out. Our receptionist was informed that, if you wished to go, to apologise for the lack of tickets but to explain that arrangements could be made for the Hotel manager to telephone the venue manager to put you on the guestlist. This was not relayed to you in full and I apologise if this impacted on your night out in Bournemouth.

3. The pictures on the website that you booked through are recent and honest pictures of our Hotel and rooms and, in particular, include pictures of one of the rooms that you stayed in so I am surprised and sorry that you felt they were not a true representation of your rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
43
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

the room i stayed in, was room 24 & was ok, but it needed updating, the windows are hard to open & close, but the room was clean, & coffee tea & sugar was ample, also a large bed & very comfortable too, breakfast was standard , i found all the staff very pleasant, the only negative was that there some younger guests sitting in the upper hallways of an evening & being a little noisy, otherwise fine.

Room Tip: maybe request rooms above the resturant & not the rooms that are red fronted to the left, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamg1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We chose to stay at the Carisbrooke Hotel for a 2 night break after reading the many good reviews and especially as we were in a group of 3 friends who wanted to stay in a triple room and they were able to provide us with an ensuite triple room.
The good points, the first has to be the very friendly and welcoming owner when we arrived, he told us of the good restaurants to try and directions around the area. The location of the hotel was ideal for us as it meant that we could leave the car in the hotel’s free car park (which seem to be few and far between in Bournemouth!) and walk to the beach and town.
The not so good points, the first has to be the room (The Dorset Suite!) it was a triple room in so much that it did have 3 very tiny beds and if you rolled over in the night you fell out the side!(by the way I am a very tiny person as well) We were a bit disappointed that there wasn’t enough storage space for 3 people and had to leave most of our things in our luggage bags, which we had to pile at the end of one of the beds to avoid tripping over them. Single glazed window which had black mould along the bottom, the same was for the window in the bathroom. The guttering was broken outside of the bedroom window and we could hear the water dripping from it all night after it had been raining during the previous day. In the ensuite bathroom there was a shower over the bath which was connected to the taps, it was a very old fitment and when you eventually could get the taps to turn on it was difficult to regulate the water flow and temperature safely so we ended up using the shower room at the bottom of our stairs as it was quicker and safer. We were only left bath towels each and not any hand towels, not even one in the bathroom to dry our hands. When we asked at reception for some hand towels we were told that they didn’t have any so they gave us one extra bath towel. The room décor was dated and the wall paper was peeling away from the wall in small areas, the carpet looked old and tatty and there was a mirror on the wall with trimming around it which keep falling off onto the bed below it. For breakfast we were offered a full English breakfast, cereal, fruit juice and toast, tea or coffee, all were of a very cheap standard. As one of our party is a vegetarian she asked if she could substitute the sausage and bacon for tomato and/or mushrooms as these were not included with the full English, she was told by the waitress that they didn’t have any so she had to have an extra hash brown.
We appreciate that the new owners haven’t been running this hotel for long and took it over in a right state and probably have plans to do up all of the rooms over a period of time, so this isn’t a review to put anybody off staying there. It’s just an honest account of our stay. I’m sure that not all of the bedrooms are like the one that we had. The windows at the front of the building all seemed to be double glazed and this is what you see when you go on the internet to book, you never get to see the rear of the property. If it were my hotel, I would do away with calling some of the rooms suites as a suite should be more than a room with just a few beds and a wardrobe in the corner, a suite to me is a room with more space and furniture than a standard hotel room including a small table and chairs, somewhere to sit and relax and even extra rooms off of the main room. I would also include coat hooks behind the bedroom door as on the days that we stayed it did rain and there was no where to hang your wet coats apart from in the little wardrobe which was already full to capacity.
All in all we had a great time in Bournemouth but next time we would probably end up paying a bit more and stay in a Premier Inn as that way you know what to expect, I know that you have to pay for your breakfast but to be honest we don’t mind that to get a better choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chellessb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Arrived at the Carisbrooke on Monday 12th September for two nights before our onward journey to Brighton on Wednesday.
We were greeted by both the hoteliers, and what a lovely warm welcome we recieved!
Both of them are are so friendly and welcoming, such a lovely couple!
Our room was nice, big family room on the ground floor (Room 4). There was a double bed,a single bed and ensuite shower room and all the other facilities you would expect to see ie tea making, tv, extra blankets/pillows etc. We were more than happy with our room, it was clean, and comfortable.
The staff are friendly and helpful and polite at all times. Nick the hotel manager was exceptionally helpful and on our first day showed us a map of Bournemouth and where all the attractions are and the restaurants in the area and took the time to speak to us when he saw us and always asked how we were and if we were ok.
The breakfast was lovely, very tastey and cooked to perfection everyday,very consistent, just wished there was a little more of some things as you only got one of everything as it was so nice but thats probably just us being greedy, and would be more than enough for most people!
Didnt see much of the communal areas such as the bar because we went out mostly but the restaurant and what we did see seemed fine, again clean and comfortable.
Had some lovely meals out in some local restaurants on Nicks reccomendations. There are plenty of restaurants within a stones throw away and a shop and pubs.
So, taking all this into consideration we were having a wonderful time when disaster struck and our car decided to break down on us on the second day!
It ended up being the head gasket and was going to have to go into a garage for a few days to be fixed which left us in a bit of a dilemma being that we were suopposed to be leaving in the morning for the two and a half hour trip to Brighton! So as the car was getting towed away Nick asked us what the problem was and immediately suggested that we could continue our stay with them if that is what we decided to do. So amazingly our room happened to be free for the rest of the week and Nick let us stay at a discounted rate for as many nights as we needed with breakfast included! We felt this was very genorous and really helped us out a LOT! Nick and his wife were so helpful in the following days and always so concerned and kind when thay saw us. We were so appreciative of there hospitality.
So we ended up staying at the Carisbrooke for four nights all in all and cancelling our Brighton trip which was dissapointing but at the same time we still ended up having a great time due to the hospitality we were shown at the hotel and dont know what we would have done without it!
We have never written a review of a hotel before as we never felt the need and consider that most of the people that write the reviews are just too eager to whine and complain and put down the places that they stay uneccessarily! But we felt we had to write to show our thanks and appreciation of what a lovely place this is and what a wonderful couple! There dedication is quite something and we couldnt believe how hard they worked. There was ALWAYS one of them avaliable if you needed to ask anything form early morning to late at night (very unusal in our experience of B+B's) and even though they have a very young son who must keep them execptionally busy! All in all, a somewhat unplanned, but wonderful time at The Carisbrooke Hotel. We wish them all the best, and a big 'THANKYOU!' : )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had a great time lovely propriorters including samual staff were very nice and made you feel welcome . The rooms were very clean and the breakfast filling, would definatley return and recommend to others to go there.

Room Tip: the rooms were bright,clean, and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I booked a last minute deal to spend a few days away with my son before the end of summer. I was a little cautious as i hadnt really had the time to check out the hotel in advance, however it offered free parking and a very short walk to the beach. On arrival the hotel owner Nick welcomed us and asked about our plans. On hearing we were thinking of hiring some bikes he made a few phone calls and sorted out a lovely pair of mountain bikes to use (even letting us use his cellar to store them in) After we had unpacked and about to leave for a wander, Nick appeared with an OS map of some routes around the Purbecks for us.

The room was very comfortable and clean, breakfasts excellent, staff could not do enough for us, the route we chose to cycle on Nicks recommendation was stunning. I shall certainly stay at the Carisbrooke again and would happily advise anyone else to do so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisLuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at the Carisbrooke for 3 weeks while working in Bournemouth and I couldn't have wished for a better place to call my home away from home! The couple who manage the hotel, Nick and Emily, are such nice people and warm hosts! The meals were tasty and balanced, the room always clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malina_z_lublina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#45 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#26 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregonholme Hotel
Tregonholme Hotel
#48 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#55 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liza Inn
Liza Inn
#53 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#94 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Hotel

Property: Carisbrooke Hotel
Address: 42 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly hotel superbly located within a short walking distance of the beach, Bournemouth International Centre and the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Carisbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing