We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only called in for a drink”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spyglass and Kettle
Ranked #102 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Highlands Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only called in for a drink”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Having travelled some six hundred miles from the Scottish Highlands to visit my Mother at the end of June I fancied a pint so walked up to the S & K early evening.

Bar not very busy at all but staff absolutely useless. Can see you are waiting but, as you are a stranger, serve people known to them who arrive some time after you start queing.

Eventually got served but only had the one.

Spent the rest of the week walking up to the Commodore. Far superior service and attention from staff. Also ate there-Food very good with minimum wait.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Invereil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    48
    25
    35
See reviews for
68
62
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The room was cold, dirty, the bathroom damp & cramped. The decor was awful, ripped headboard on the bed, ripped wallpaper, mould.
At night the TV screen would roll every now & again which we figured out was due to the toilet hand dryer sending the reception off. The TV itself was mounted to the ceiling & there was no remote, so a stretch to change the channel. Every now & again there was a loud bang as the toilet door opened/closed. Then one night a disco went on until about 11, which is fine, but not if you've got kids who then can't sleep - not really for families in that case!
Then best of all was the bed bugs! Yes we were bitten all over. They lived in the ripped headboard.

It's a shame as we had always eaten there & were happy but now since we stayed we will never go there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank random5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Once again we visited the Spyglass & K due to its excellent cliff top location and good dog walking. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food quality (and quantity) is above the average pub standard, also the real ales are kept in very good condition, "Old Thumper" is a joy to drink. our room, no 7, was nice and spacious with plenty of room for our dog, the bath/shower/wc room is also a good size. We really enjoy staying at The S&K and don't recognise some of the negative comments given. We will return later this year. J, I & Sox- the dog.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stopped here for sunday lunch and it wasnt very busy.
Tables and menus unclean, still had remnants of a birthday party 50th decorations on tables and floor, ...possibly from previous evening.
Food was of a poor quality, peas re heated i.e. different colours, sausages burnt, Broccoli over cooked, yorkshire pudding plastic.
wont return here,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riw9471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My wife & I + dog have just spent 5nights at the Spyglass and were very satisfied with the above average quality pub food, good breakfasts, a good choice of beer, well kept and in excellent condition, ( I have been on a beer judging course), the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were a little tired but comfortable with a ready supply of clean towels.
We have paid more per person at other hotels in the area than the cost per room here of similar standard. All in all good location, good value and good for pet dogs. John 28/11/10

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Me and my partner went to stay at the spyglass and kettle on the 22nd October for two nights and we felt very at home. The room was basic which was fine because we didn't want anything to flash! We also really enjoyed Bournemouth the beaches and piers were lovely!! We are looking to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswaffle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Firstly I cannot comment on the rooms etc as we only went along for a drink and lunch. We were going to sit outside as it was a mild day , but that proved a bad move, fag butts and paper all over the grass area dirty plates and glasses, and the garden generally very dirty. We ventured inside to get a drink the barman had no idea who should be first and there was only three people waiting !eventually getting served with a greeting of "yes fella" !!! then I nearly fell over with the price a good 30% dearer than other pubs in the area!
Lunch was then a no no as people were complaining up and asking for their money back because of the wait and it wasn't even busy !
If you want my advice as a local to the area try the commodore further down the road a far better bet with lovely sea views .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
3.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#46 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stour Lodge Guest House
Stour Lodge Guest House
#10 of 33 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#43 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#28 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass and Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass and Kettle

Property: Spyglass and Kettle
Address: 25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass and Kettle 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Spyglass and Kettle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass And Kettle Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing