We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
Review of Mount Stuart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Stuart Hotel
Ranked #27 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

clean, smelt right , bar prices fair, rooms great everything worked + towels & soap , no hassle attitude checking in & out , I have been on quite a few group events \ stags & this is the nicest b&b yet Breakfast was promp & as requested too :-)

Room Tip: if you want to sleep early the big room over the bar might not be best
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    58
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for my daughters hen weekend.Nice comfortable stay.Rooms are clean,was a little cold in our room ,I guess it was to do with the way the house is facing,as my daughters room very bright and warm.We had 4 bedded room with plenty of room.The breakfast was really good you could have cereal ,fresh orange juice,tea,coffee toast and cooked breakfast which was lovely and hot.The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to see you had what you wanted,We even asked Karl the barman to make us a cup of coffee and he did ,
Staff made all visitors very welcome.Hotel is close to town centre very happy with our stay and would stay at this hotel again Thank you to the owners and all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be warmer in the front of the house,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynhoare2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

had a good time when we were at the hotel bar drink was cheep big screen (which was great we checked out at 11am and they let us stay till 3.15 to watch the Sunday football match which was very nice off them. barman was a funny south African called Karl so watch out for that one.The breakfast was ok and you can doulbe up for 3 pound i liked this with a hang over :-) the room was not to bad it was what it was bed tv and shower but a bit gruby but over all very good will be going back for shore .

thanks

Room Tip: if your going in a group of 7 or more there is a hole flat you ca n rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Despite previous reviews, we booked a hen do for 13 people staying at the Mount Stuart Hotel and we were, without exception all VERY happy with our choice.

The hotel and rooms were very clean (I have OCD and even I was impressed!), and had everything we needed. The rooms were well presented and staff were very friendly. They serve the best breakfast I have ever had, cooked fresh and plenty of it, and we were made to feel very welcome.

If I ever go to Bournemouth again (and all the girls agree), I would go here without hesitation!

Thank you for making the weekend extra special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear20186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

our stay at the Mount Stuart was very pleasant. We were very nervous after reading about the stag and hen do's, but as we were a mid week booking we didn't see or hear any. It was something that would of put us off booking this hotel had we read the reviews first. The hotel is basic but clean, although bathrooms could do with updating and wardrobes, toilet in our room (rm10) was badly stained but clean and wardrobe .. falling to pieces. Owners/staff were very friendly and welcoming and put themselves out to make sure we had up to date info on what was on around Bournemouth. As they did before our arrival on several counts...very considerate of their guests!! Breakfast again basic in choice, but beautifully cooked and a rarity in ANY hotel we had HOT toast every morning!! Close to the town, gardens or beach, a few minutes walk. It is uphill coming back but a taxi was just £3-80 or catch the bus up Priory Road and walk down to hotel. All in all we recommend it but don't expect it to be 4* I noted another review about drab rooms and new window being put in lounge...we were above this work in progress and heard nothing until we actually went down for breakfast...I think maybe there is a work in progress also of decorating as we were a party with 3 rooms and one needed updating the other 2 looked freshly painted, all had double glazed windows. Noise wasn't bad odd doors shutting but no problem...no more than any hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

lets start on the positives here. breakfast was very tasty, however the pot of tea when asked for another it's just topped up with water and no fresh tea-bags. staff are friendly and helpful. excellent location. free parking at rear of guest house, however parking at night is sought after when all residents are present. rooms are poky and dull, en-suite shower room far too small. noise at night is quite annoying from other residents. on our second day the lounge was having a refit of double glazing windows, which started at 8.30am (not needed) so early. breakfast should be slightly longer as 8.30 till 9.30 is not enough time to squeeze all residents in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloupiscean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount S, Owner at Mount Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review - we are rather surprised as we had received no complaints/concerns from any of our guests staying all week - in fact everyone seemed very happy. We do endeavour to please our guests and had you mentioned your concerns
regarding your room - I am sure we could have offered you another room and spoken to
whoever was causing excess noise at night - although we only had families and couples
staying this week. We are refurbishing some more rooms during this winter and our apologies
if you had one of the older rooms.

With regard to the extra tea - this should have been a fresh pot of tea and I will speak to our
waiting staff, I am sure it was just a mistake. Regarding the new double glazed windows - the re-furbishment of the lounge and reception was scheduled for off- season
and was only being done during the busy season due to a broken window frame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed at the mount Stuart last night with my family booked a family room that should have been for 2 adults and 2 children and ended up with a double room with a extra bed stuck in the corner. Was not very clean and there was no shower in our room.
The sleeping or lack of it was the worst I've ever had with loud music till 3am stopping us getting a good night sleep.
The only real positives I can see to staying here the breakfast was nice and there was free wifi.

A real joke was when we were leaving my wife was accused of stealing a salt pot ( sorry but we are not that hard up )

I wont be staying here again and at what we paid I feel robbed.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markw258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#15 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#56 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#16 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#19 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stuart Hotel

Property: Mount Stuart Hotel
Address: 31 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount Stuart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Stuart Hotel is a family run business with 27 year's of experience. We are ideally situated being 5 minutes walk from the Bournemouth Town Centre, Golden beaches, Conference Centre and night-life. We provide good quality accommodation for all types of customers - we do have stag and hen groups at weekends but also cater for School/College groups, cricket/golf tours and families/couples during school holidays. We have a friendly bar - open late at the weekends and can provide Dinner for groups when requested. There is limited car parking at the rear of the building and Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Freshly prepared Full English breakfast is served in our modern Dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Mount Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing