We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here in April”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boscombe Reef Hotel
Ranked #107 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here in April this year for three nights with my fiancé and my nana. We were visiting family, and wanted a budget hotel. This was perfect for that, we stayed in a 3 bed room which meant that nana didn't have to pay a single room supplement.

It's not luxury by any means, but breakfast was included (self service) and you could get a cup of tea 24/7!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteLucy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Boscombe Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here in May for a Gary Numan gig at the O2 Bournemouth. Chose it for close proximity and cost, good choice - within 5 mins walk of the venue and pedestrianised shopping area with shops, fast food outlets and pubs, all you need pre- and post-gig! Within the shopping arcade is a small offbeat record and fashion shop, well worth a visit to check out old vinyl. Bit difficult to park as only 2 or 3 spaces which were taken but after knocking at the next door hotel, the neighbour allowed us to park outside overnight. At the hotel the owner greeted us, very friendly, showed us to our room. Double room and small en suite within room but adequate for our needs. I really liked the DIY breakfast arrangement, help yourself to bread for toast, marmalade, etc. different cereals, other morning goods and so on. Freshly brewed coffee that was regularly topped up was delicious. I would recommend to young people not necessarily to older couples due to basic facilities but you get what you pay for and this was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHedgehog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Too many cheaper hotels/guest houses in Bournemouth are marred by being dated, dirty and struggling to meet the basics of a comfortable stay. This hotel, which to be fair is more of a small B&B, manages to tick all the basic boxes of a pleasant stay at a very good price. In Bournemouth, it is probably the best budget stay I have had.

It would appear that the place has had a recent revamp as the bedroom was modern, with a good quality power shower and beds. Perhaps it is a bit on the small side for our family room, but storage space is plentiful with fast-free wi-fi and an iron that works well as nice bonuses. Yes, the en-suite is a bit small, but it works well and there is nothing grubby about this place. I found it bright, clean and modern.

The staff clearly care about guests here and that is a nice touch, especially as many larger places lack any personal touch. Car parking appeared to be an issue, but we were allowed to park at a sister hotel owned by the same people, so that was overcome without issue.

I am a big fan of a quality breakfast and although a top notch full English is not on the agenda, at least what you are paying for is pleasant. Basic cereal from brand names, with tea and crumpets etc provided via self-service is ideal for the money, especially as there are plenty of more extravagant options available if they take your fancy.

Overall, it is a very good hotel that works because it does everything it aims to well. There is no extravagance or illusions of grandeur here. If you want free shampoo sachets, mega breakfasts or satin sheets then this is not going to provide any sense of luxury. However if you want just a clean, well-run basic establishment that will provide a pleasant fuss free stay, then look no further.

Room Tip: Little choice, but our room was well positioned.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56Thomas_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Booked same day for 2 nights and didn't check in till eight thirty. We had a warm welcome and tour of the hotel. The room was clean and tidy with plenty of storage space for our clothes. The staff were friendly and approachable. On the second night some guests were playing music loud and being noisey but were promptly told to keep it down and reminded there are other guests. The bed was really comfy and we had a brilliant nights sleep. Thanks to the staff for making it an enjoyable and comfortable stay. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guzzler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My fiance and i came to boscombe very last min, and was a bit wary of the b&b's/hotels as we had been told that they usually weren't very good in this area.
We found this hotel exceptional. Agnes was a lovely hostess, very polite and helpful, and when some other guests were making some very loud noise, she was quick to intervene, and quieten the people up.

Our room was very big, bright and airy, very clean, with a very clean en suite and the bed very comfortable.

Iron and ironing board on landing, hair-dryers available on request, free wi fi, flat screen freeview tv on wall.

Breakfast was continental style, cereals, fruit, crumpets, brioche, toast..and tea and coffee available all day.

Very close to town centre, and the beach.

If we are ever in the area again i would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curliwhirli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the room was small but clean. Tiny shower room and toilet en-suite but was sufficient for us. Staff polite and friendly, breakfast was basic toast and cereal but ok. All we needed was a place to get our head down and this was ideal. For the price we paid we were happy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were a party of 10 lads from London, Midlands and the North East on a Stag weekend. As we weren't going to be spending a lot of time there, we simply needed a place to sleep, change and wash. Therefore we wanted something cheap and close to all the major attractions.
We found the Boscombe Reef Hotel on Laterooms and the fact that it was the cheapest by miles, we didn't waste any time in booking it.

Arrival
The hotel is really easy to find and as Russell had mentioned, was a REALLY close walk to lots of nice places to eat and drink and of course, the beach.
We arrived at around 5:30pm and were promptly shown to each of our rooms as Russell had described in the booking form. We were shown the facilities and offered the options of spare keys, which we kindly declined as we had a designated key holder.
We were also advised of the house rules which were,
1. Have fun and enjoy the facilities
2. No noise on late return (to be expected), party to stop before re-entering premises
3. No smoking inside the rooms
4. Damages bond for stag parties is £300

Rooms
We ended up on the top floor with 3 rooms. 2 x triples and 1 x quad. Each room was well made up with bedding, towels, a tv with freeview and a sink in each room. The rooms also had mirrors which came in handy for when we were getting ready.
We quickly made ourselves at home and prepared to go out and get ready.

Facilities
We had 2 showers on our floor and 1 toilet. Which was fine as we didn't mind sharing and there were toilets on the floor below.
There were tea and coffee making facilities on the ground floor and these were available 24x7.
There is free wifi available throughout the hotel and is of a decent speed too.
We were lucky enough to have a fridge on the top floor which we used to keep our beers cool.
There are TV's with freeview in every room. The TV in room 8 wasn't working during an important Euro 2012 game. One phone call to Russell and the TV was replaced in minutes and we resumed the game.

Pro's
Cheap prices, good breakfast, convenient location
Garden with furniture where the smokers can congregate
TV with Freeview in every room
Good mobile reception for O2 and Vodafone users
Free Wifi for 'smart' device users

Con's
Rooms and beds may not be to everyones taste, some could be a little small
Larger parties may like to request ensuite rooms if they don't like to share bathroom facilities with strangers
Larger people may like to book double rooms with double beds.

Overall
We had a great experience, Russell is a welcoming and friendly host. The reviews did get us a little worried, but you'd have to be animals to have experienced some of the negative stories on here.
We would definitely recommend this for a lads weekend away, or even as a value getaway for small families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhavinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 67 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#37 of 133 in Bournemouth
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#5 of 133 in Bournemouth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#18 of 133 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#43 of 133 in Bournemouth
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyvern Hotel
Wyvern Hotel
#49 of 133 in Bournemouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscombe Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscombe Reef Hotel

Address: 15 Westby Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $50 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boscombe Reef Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boscombe Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing