We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vesuvio, Alum Chine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Ranked #169 of 736 Restaurants in Bournemouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vesuvio, Alum Chine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have had 2 delicious meals at this beautifully located restaurant. The service was good, staff pleasant and polite. We watched the waves lap the seashore.

The food was tasty. We will definitely return .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillkaren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    191
    109
    78
    111
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than expected,but room for improvement!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Firstly....this restaurant is an Italian so why expect a good English breakfast? Also,the shirt n shoes policy isn't a dress code...it simply means no bareback or bare feet! My Hubby went in wearing trainers and shorts.We really enjoyed our meals which were all pasta and the waiting staff were attentive but unintrusive.I'd have given 5 stars apart from my Hubby getting much less meat in his full Carbonara than my 9yr old son got in his kid's portion of the same? Otherwise...fair prices and a lovely clean place to eat in an outstandingly beautiful location.I love the idea of an Italin on the beach as I get quite fed up with only finding chips to feed my kids!!Well done Vesuvio,we'd visit again.There is an Harvester and Harry Ramsden's 5 minutes along the beach for those who prefer a plate of grease costing£30-£40 for 4.We had desserts,except one of us and drinks and only paid £55....very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Downurway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Very friendly beach restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had an impromptu lunch here as our room at the hotel wasn't ready. We were welcomed by a very friendly waiter and it made a good start to our weekend break.

The pizzas and ciabattas were excellent. All washed down with a decent glass of house red.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great people and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant is located in a picture perfect spot on the beach. It was built to maximize the beautiful views and provide a superior dining experience. It will not disappoint you. We had a great time with the staff and other diners. The food was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A lovely meal at Vesuvio, good service, nice house wine and great cheescake!

Our meals were chicken with pancetta and the salmon salad, good portions and very well cooked and presented.

We will go back next time we are in Bournemouth.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing