We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

The Water Garden Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Water Garden Hotel
Ranked #59 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the best small hotels we have stayed in for a very long time. The hotel was very clean and tidy everywhere. Lovely full cooked English breakfast each morning. Brenda and Paul made us most welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_boar350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

The owners who run the hotel are very friendly and eager to help with any inquiries. The room I've stayed in for a couple of nights was clean and nice, the bed comfortable and breakfast freshly made (full English breakfast). The hotel also offers free internet WLAN which is important for business travellers like me. And all this for a very decent price!

I've enjoyed my stay at this friendly and conviently located hotel near the city center of Bournemouth and I'm only sad that they are going to be closed for the winter (as I would have stayed there again next time in Bournemouth, which will be in November...).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissGuyWinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We did not want to book a large chain hotel and decided to book this hotel because of the good reviews it had received. We were welcomed by name by the proprietor and after signing in and being given a map of the area we were shown to our room. The room was quite small but comfortable. It did have two annoying things - squeaky floorboards and very noisy extractor fans (we could also hear the one in the next room!) Before venturing out to explore Bournemouth we were shown into the lounge where we were able to look through the many books and leaflets about the local area. Our host was also able to give us several recommendations for places to eat which was very helpful. Breakfast was fine - my husband particularly enjoyed the coffee! The hotel was a very good base for exploring the area being quite close to the sea and being on a bus route. It had a bar but we never saw anyone using it. The garden was lovely too and would have been a joy in warmer weather.The hotel accepts dogs and the owner has two but I'm pleased to be able to say we never found a 'doggy' smell anywhere. All in all the hotel suited our purpose and we would stay again. It would be a wonderful place for single ladies to stay as they would be very well looked after and would feel very safe. It was a little dated but impeccably clean which was much more important.

Room Tip: Hotel is on busy road so rooms at the back should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wozzasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Another excellent review for this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and everything with a smile. We had two twin rooms and both were extremely clean and very nice. Breakfast was excellent, one of our party was coeliac and there was special bread for her on arrival. Beautiful decoration and lots of interesting figurines, etc. The flowers in the lounge, lobby and dining room were gorgeous and the outside area and hanging baskets beautiful. Can't recommend in highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosswomanWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

As other reviews for this hotel it true paul and brenda cant do enough we ask if they did soya milk next day there was the soya milk on the table great service you would not get that with chain hotels . our small dogs was accepted and made to fill at home . breakfast was very good and hot good choice of cereals and juices . clean thru out , garden fantastic , will revisit

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a find! The Water Garden is worth its weight in gold. Paul & Brenda can't do enough for their guests. The lobby & lounge have been sympathetically decorated to reflect the time the hotel was built (late Victorian) but no shortage of modern day amenities including the silent bell - ring once and, as if by magic, Paul would appear to attend to your every need. Bar prices very good. Full English breakfast was just what the doctor ordered to set us up for the day or sort us out after the night before. Good choice of cereals and juices plus choice of conserves for the never ending supply of hot toast. We were a hen party of 11 and 9 of us were roomed all on the same floor. Very clean, comfy beds and adequate storage. Usual facilities plus ample tea/coffee supplies. Would definitely go back! Thank you Paul & Brenda.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on to the side and rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan159937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

When we arrived at the Water Garden Hotel we was greeted by Paul who was very welcoming,he showed us around and let us check in earlier and helped carry our bags to our room. We booked a double room and was given a family room which was very nice, the room was cleaned to a high standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, there was cereals and five different juices, Paul always offered us tea and coffee and took our order for breakfast. We had a full english every morning which was always cooked perfect. On the rainy days we was offered to use the hotels umbrellas. The garden was very pretty with water features and lots of flowers. They have to dogs which were very well behaved and quiet you hardly noticed they was there. The only down fall is if you have a room at the front of the hotel because the road is slightly noise but overall we would highly recommend this hotel and we will be returning 100%. Thank you to Paul and Brenda for making us feel very welcome. John and Nicole

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole171211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Garden Hotel

Address: 40 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $40 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Water Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Water Garden Hotel prides itself on offering high standards of customer service and cleanliness, including a gold-standard kitchen. There is a fully stocked bar offering a range of drinks at reasonable prices, as well as the hotel’s award-winning gardens and the patio area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Water Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing