We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more”
Review of Mory House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mory House
Ranked #3 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Another glowing review for this lovely B&B. We had the family room on the second floor which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The property is beautifully decorated and everything feels very new. The breakfasts are excellent, especially the variety on offer eg. french toast, smoked haddock etc. My son loved the special Superhero's breakfast!
We didn't go into Southbourne itself but the high street was only a couple of minutes walk up the road. We headed to the beach which was five minutes walk away and there is a family friendly pub for evening meals, the Spyglass and Kettle just a few minutes further on. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopsngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    36
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
256
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We couldn't have asked for somewhere better to stay for our easter break - we took over three of the rooms and they were so friendly and helpful to all of us!
The rooms were spotless and the decor was really trendy and modern - they had lots of little extras such as DVD players, bottles of water and fresh milk if you wanted it.
The owners were so approachable and friendly and made you feel very welcome.
The breakfast is amazing - as someone who doesnt like a full english - it was really refreshing to see something else on the menu (the french toast is amazing!).
The location is perfect - right next to the beach and in a lovely quiet street - right by some lovely shops - especially coastal creatives - gorgeous!
Plenty of parking at the house - we had no issues at all.
I would recommend to anyone and we will be back - definately!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahPSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We don't usually recommend as everyone has different standards and expectations, however we felt that it would be very hard to find fault with Mory House. It is clean, bright, modern and very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and freshly cooked. We travelled with our 21 month old daughter and found it very easy, our room was more than able to accommodate a travel cot and we were provided with a lovely, spotless high chair at breakfast. Southbourne is peaceful with a clean sandy beach which is within easy walking distance. The high street is a short walk away and Bournemouth is just a few miles. We had a lovely relaxing break and found Mory House the perfect place to base ourselves to explore the surrounding area. Thank you for a great stay, we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2009

My wife and I have stayed in many guest houses but none bettered this. The hosts are lovely people, our room was excellent being spacious, very clean and furnished with quality in mind. Our breakfast was excellent and we were both impressed with the little extras provided with the cereals.. On a rating of 1 to 10 we would award - 12

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susieq22
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We've gone to Bournemouth many times for work and have never found a small hotel/b & b that we would return to before this. Morey House is great. Owners are friendly. We had to work early, so they served breakfast before their usual hours for us. Rooms were large and clean. Bed was great. We will definitely stay with them when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights, taking in an 80s concert (that gives away our age) and some Christmas shopping in Bournemouth.

Mory House was easy to find and parking available at the property so it didn't take long for us to throw down our bags and, with the aid of their 'places to eat' book and some personal advice, head out for dinner.

Knowing little about Southbourne we suspected we might need to drive to Bournemouth but we found a 'charming' family run restaurant called 'Number 4' just a couple of hundred metres away in Southbourne 'High Street' (which, incidentally, had a fair selection of non-globalised brands including an old fashioned sweet shop!!).

The same distance in the other direction is the seafront and we were lucky (mad?) enough to see a beautiful sunrise the next day and back in time for breakfast.

Would recommend this place to anyone. Immaculately clean, peaceful and friendly (although we only ever dealt with the man of the house we presume Mrs Brown would have been just as welcoming).

PS - Room four on the top floor is a little tricky for the taller guest but we didn't expect acres of space so can't mark them down on it.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — lack of headroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK&RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
433 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,420 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mory House

Property: Mory House
Address: 31 Grand Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3SY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mory House is a small, very personal establishment, neither a hotel, nor a traditional bed and breakfast. Somewhere in between, offering boutique style accommodation with a family run friendly service. Our aim is to ensure you, our guests, feel totally relaxed and thoroughly comfortable during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing