We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mexican around - by far”
Review of Ojo Rojo

Ojo Rojo
Order Online
Ranked #55 of 929 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: Our Food Our dishes are inspired by Mexican street food, refined and combined with flavours and influences from around the world, delivered with a unique Rojo twist. We have combined a variety of dietary needs and created a menu that can be enjoyed by all. Vegan, gluten sensitive and meat lovers are all welcome through these doors. Our venue: Two floors, two paces. The ground floor 'Gallery' houses our Mezcaleria bar area and lends itself to lively informal dining, being both relaxed and casual. Upstairs you'll find the mesmerising 'Canopy', with our semi-open kitchen and more traditional, intimate dining.
Restaurant details
Description: Our Food Our dishes are inspired by Mexican street food, refined and combined with flavours and influences from around the world, delivered with a unique Rojo twist. We have combined a variety of dietary needs and created a menu that can be enjoyed by all. Vegan, gluten sensitive and meat lovers are all welcome through these doors. Our venue: Two floors, two paces. The ground floor 'Gallery' houses our Mezcaleria bar area and lends itself to lively informal dining, being both relaxed and casual. Upstairs you'll find the mesmerising 'Canopy', with our semi-open kitchen and more traditional, intimate dining.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place feels authentic. The food is fab, good choice of drinks. It can be very busy ar peak times and the service time lags then, hence the 4 star and not 5.
Great for young families in the day and earlier hours too. Love the healthier options

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best Mexican restaurants we have ever been to. Will definitely be back the next time we’re in the area! The food was lovely and the staff were great.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank EmilyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We found this gem whilst on holiday. It was so good. We went back 2 days running. The tacos are amazing well all the food is amazing. We got nachos one day they were huge

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank rinne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here recently as a large group and they managed to fit 14 of us together upstairs. The cocktails are really inventive and delicious, bringing mixes and flavours I personally haven’t tried before. All of the cocktails are tequila based so if you don’t like tequila you may want to look at the other drinks options.
We all went for the boozy feast option and it really was a feast. There was so much food that we struggled to eat it all. As a meat eater you are well covered however my vegetarian friends found that they were provided less options, mostly being served salads, chips and 1 taco option. With a reduced selection of food available to them I think that the cost of their feast should have been less.
Will definitely return to eat a’la carte.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LocalFoodLoverLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came across thisMexican by chance a little off the beaten path but what a great find. Great atmosphere and authentic menu. Lots of small bites and super service. We loved it had the tacos and a beers just perfect. We definitely we be back now we know where it is.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Nenners56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojo Rojo also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Ojo Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing