We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 145 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at beach Lodge. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival with tea and cake whilst our cases were taken to our room, which was very clean and modern. The bed was large and very comfortable, firm but not too hard. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was well cooked. Faith and Martin are very friendly and helpful hosts. Would definately stay again if in Bournemouth. It's in a very nice area, close to shops and beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sunseeker,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a Tripadvisor review, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Faith's home made cakes and breakfasts!
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
182
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shefford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

First visit back in 3 years and the stay was even better. Martin and Faith gave us a friendly warm welcome and could not do enough to help throughout our week stay there. Very warm, friendly and welcoming. A comfortable bed in a spacious clean and well equipped room with ample facilities including large screen TV to watch England crash out of the World Cup.

A wonderful breakfast choice that can keep you going until mid-afternoon and a special surprise next to the tea making facilities when you return to your room when Faith does some home baking, some lovely welcome additions to go with your tea or coffee.

The centre of Southbourne is a 5-10min walk with the majority of facilities that you need, banks, supermarkets, post office and some cafe eateries and drinkeries etc.. and a gentle walk back through Fishermans Walk gives you a view of the birdlife and wildlife in the wooded shade. If you cant make it back public toilets are abundant both in the park and on the seafront and open the majority of the time during the day in the summer.

When the weather is good Beach Lodge is a master spot for the seafront with the cliff lift nearby for those tired (or lazy) limbs at the end of the day. If the weather is inclement it is a great base for Bournemouth, Poole, Christchurch and the new forest. Enough to do and see, but not in the busy centre of the town - so the best of both worlds in Southbourne and at Beach Lodge.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are large and spacious for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Nick
Thank you so much for your detailed and excellent Tripadvisor review. We were really please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even more than your previous visit. It was lovely to meet you and Justine and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very good experience. We are a family of three who stayed in Maple room for two nights. Very warm welcome, very thoughtful owners who made us feel at home. Room is spacious and bright. We will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Maple room is on first floor (no lift) with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KONDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Kondr
Thank you for writing us such a great Tripadvisor review, we do appreciate you taking the time. It was lovely to meet the 3 of you and we are pleased you felt at home during your stay with us.
Thanks again
Martin and faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a two night stay at the lodge which was thoroughly enjoyed, as it was a family get away the guest house was very accommodating. The service and cleanliness was of highest quality, there was no anything faith and martin could not lodge on request. The breakfast was super and very flexible as it is made to order (i recommend the full english delicious). Thank you for making it a enjoyable stay and one to remember! The parmar family.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Parmar Family
Thank you for writing us a '5 star' Tripadvisor review, it's much appreciated and we do enjoy reading them!
It was great to meet all 12 of you and we enjoyed having you stay with us. It was good to see our guest lounge getting fully utilised for your pre-dinner and Birthday parties. We will certainly remember it too!
Kind Regards to you all
Martin and faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Beach Lodge hotel .Very warm welcome,room spotless clean,perfect location in very quiet area,lovely breakfast and fresh homemade cupcakes every day makes you feel like home.
Thank you very much Martin and Faith

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomaszandKate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Tomasz and Kate
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a Tripadvisor review, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you felt at home and that you enjoyed Faith's home made cakes!
We hope to see you again soon :-)
Thanks again
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is the reason we have guest houses. Home from home with personal attention and going the extra mile. Martin and Faith are a lovely couple who make your stay special. Nothing is too much trouble even down to getting taxis and sourcing restaurants. The top hotels just can't compete and charge twice as much. We will definitely be joining them again.

Thanks to you both

Kev and Ann

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smifff26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Kev and Ann
Thank you for your Marvellous Tripadvisor review, it is greatly appreciated. It was lovely to have the 3 of you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Warm Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived on 23rd May to a warm welcome from Faith and Martin. A great pot of coffee plus some of Faith's delicious homemade cake. This was the beginning of being well cared for and spoilt, which continued for the rest of our holiday.
Nothing was too much trouble and plenty of information and advice for places to go and to eat.
The Hotel excellent rooms clean fresh and airy great to relax in.
Breakfast good variety and great full English.
We recommend to anyone
Hope to return later in the year, see you then
Sue and Keith

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sue and Keith
Thank you so much for writing us a Wonderful Tripadvisor review, it makes our day to get such good feedback! We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and we would love to see you again later in the year if you can make it.
Thanks again
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Guest House

Property: Beach Lodge Guest House
Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing