We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence at Beach Lodge”
Review of Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staying for two nights, we found the accommodation at Beach Lodge spacious, well presented and very clean and well maintained. Martin and Faith were most attentive and obliging, the cooked breakfast was super.

Room Tip: The steps (two?) from my bedroom down into the ensuite bathroom need particular care at night by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjb1967, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Gerald
Thank you for writing us a TripAdvisor review, its very kind of you. It was lovely to meet you and your mother and we really enjoyed having you stay. We hope to see you both again in the future.
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 428 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've just come back from a couple of nights at the Beach Lodge Guest House. There was a group of us all with children who stayed there and Martin and Faith couldn't do any more for us to make our stay as easy as possible. From help with unpacking the car with the extra bags that small children always need to tidying up any mess. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit salad both days to put on our cereal and a wide choice of hot dishes. The location is ideal for the beaches and there's a great little cafe and play park only a few minutes away over looking the bay. A lovely stay; we'll definitely use the Beach Lodge if we go back again. Thanks Martin & Faith!

Room Tip: The lodge is situated in a quiet street so none of the rooms would be noisy. We stayed on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Ali
Thank you for writing us a TripAdvisor review, we really do appreciate it. It was great to meet you all and the children were all fab. We have to admit we were slightly apprehensive about taking so many people (and children/babies) in one group but we thought it went really well and we're so pleased you all enjoyed it.
Warm Regards
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you are looking for a conveniently positioned, spotlessly clean and incredibly friendly guest house you will find it at Beach Lodge. This was a return visit for us as we were so impressed the first time and would recommend this lovely house to anybody looking to stay in the Bournemouth area. Martin and Faith make you so welcome, the little extras in the room are a lovely touch (homemade cakes, cotton buds and cotton wool wipes) as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits make it that little bit more personal and are very much appreciated. Breakfast is lovely and plentiful and there is plenty of choice. All in all a lovely place to stay run by lovely people. Thank you both for making us so welcome

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Carole and David
Thank you for writing us another '1st Class' TripAdvisor review, its greatly appreciated (and its helped to get Beach Lodge up to no 4 in Bournemouth now!). It was lovely to have you stay, we really enjoyed seeing you again.
Thanks again
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We haven't stayed in a B&B for years, so were a bit apprehensive about it. No need at all, what a really lovely guest house with hosts that made you feel so welcome. We phoned Faith the day before as we made a late decision to go down to Bournemouth for a few days and she very kindly accommodated us. The room and the bathroom was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and the décor in the room just right. We felt welcome straight away, with a cup of coffee in the lounge before being shown to our room. Breakfast was just right, and Faith and Martin's relaxed and friendly service gave a lovely ambience to the breakfast room, with a good choice of food on offer. The house itself is in a lovely position, yards from the sea front and in a very nice street. They had good local knowledge of the area. Not much else to say really except that this was a lovely relaxing two nights and we felt very welcomed and looked after. Thank you so much for making our short stay feel so special.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room which I think may have been slightly smaller, but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Sharon and Mike,

Thank you so much for writing us us such a lovely TripAdvisor review. We are so pleased that you had a relaxing break with us and felt at home. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Found by trawling the net, this b&b deserves the high praise it receives. Hosts are welcoming, helpful & efficient. And they know that little things mean a lot. This remarkably original but refurbished Edwardian house stands in an ideal position betwixt Christchurch & Bournemouth, within yards of the Southbourne cliff top, offering easy walks & sweeping views from the Isle of White to Swanage. Fisherman's Walk & the cliff lift to the beach & promenade are minutes away. A warm welcome will await you again at breakfast where a generous menu is offered to cater for all tastes. Worth knowing that the hosts take great pride in sourcing the best quality ingredients for their guests. Comfortable beds with good linen in clean, light, well furnished rooms of calm colours all combine to make this the place to stay. But keep it a secret!

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHR2MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear LHR2MAN
Thank you for your 'secretive' TripAdvisor review, it makes Beach Lodge and the surrounding area sound very impressive - which we think it is (but don't worry we we won't tell anyone either).
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just stumbled upon the Beach Lodge as we were looking for an accommodation in Bournemouth.
The location is just minutes away from Pokesdown station and LITERALLY 2 minutes from the sea front (if you're really slow).

The rooms were very nice and clean, and very comfortable for a very reasonable price.
And most importantly we felt very welcomed by Mr and Mrs Bean. They were very kind and very helpful with our special requirements (super early wake-up and breakfast!) and they even got us a lift to the station!!

We loved our stay and recommend the Beach Lodge to anyone looking for a charming B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastien-LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Sebastien
Thank you for writing us an Excellent TripAdvisor review. It was great to meet you all and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beach Lodge. Hopefully we will see you again - maybe for next years Bournemouth Marathon.
Kind Regards
Mr and Mrs Bean ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I can highly recommend this B&B. Martin and Faith allowed us access to our room in the morning (which was very helpful as we only had one day in Bournemouth) and immediately offered us a tea or coffee after our journey and a slice of cake was placed in our room which was a special touch.The room had a view of the sea and was so comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced, freshly cooked with a variety of additional food on offer such as a genuine fresh fruit salad. We shall definitely return and stay longer than the one night next time. Good luck for your 2014 season Martin and Faith ,but with your hard work and glowing reviews I am sure you will have many returning visitors and their friends and family

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Susan
Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review, we really do appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be great to see you again.
Warm Regards
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $91 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing