We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sharon&mikeoxfordshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“sharon&mikeoxfordshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We haven't stayed in a B&B for years, so were a bit apprehensive about it. No need at all, what a really lovely guest house with hosts that made you feel so welcome. We phoned Faith the day before as we made a late decision to go down to Bournemouth for a few days and she very kindly accommodated us. The room and the bathroom was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and the décor in the room just right. We felt welcome straight away, with a cup of coffee in the lounge before being shown to our room. Breakfast was just right, and Faith and Martin's relaxed and friendly service gave a lovely ambience to the breakfast room, with a good choice of food on offer. The house itself is in a lovely position, yards from the sea front and in a very nice street. They had good local knowledge of the area. Not much else to say really except that this was a lovely relaxing two nights and we felt very welcomed and looked after. Thank you so much for making our short stay feel so special.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room which I think may have been slightly smaller, but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sharon and Mike,

Thank you so much for writing us us such a lovely TripAdvisor review. We are so pleased that you had a relaxing break with us and felt at home. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
107
185
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Found by trawling the net, this b&b deserves the high praise it receives. Hosts are welcoming, helpful & efficient. And they know that little things mean a lot. This remarkably original but refurbished Edwardian house stands in an ideal position betwixt Christchurch & Bournemouth, within yards of the Southbourne cliff top, offering easy walks & sweeping views from the Isle of White to Swanage. Fisherman's Walk & the cliff lift to the beach & promenade are minutes away. A warm welcome will await you again at breakfast where a generous menu is offered to cater for all tastes. Worth knowing that the hosts take great pride in sourcing the best quality ingredients for their guests. Comfortable beds with good linen in clean, light, well furnished rooms of calm colours all combine to make this the place to stay. But keep it a secret!

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHR2MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear LHR2MAN
Thank you for your 'secretive' TripAdvisor review, it makes Beach Lodge and the surrounding area sound very impressive - which we think it is (but don't worry we we won't tell anyone either).
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just stumbled upon the Beach Lodge as we were looking for an accommodation in Bournemouth.
The location is just minutes away from Pokesdown station and LITERALLY 2 minutes from the sea front (if you're really slow).

The rooms were very nice and clean, and very comfortable for a very reasonable price.
And most importantly we felt very welcomed by Mr and Mrs Bean. They were very kind and very helpful with our special requirements (super early wake-up and breakfast!) and they even got us a lift to the station!!

We loved our stay and recommend the Beach Lodge to anyone looking for a charming B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien-LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sebastien
Thank you for writing us an Excellent TripAdvisor review. It was great to meet you all and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beach Lodge. Hopefully we will see you again - maybe for next years Bournemouth Marathon.
Kind Regards
Mr and Mrs Bean ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I can highly recommend this B&B. Martin and Faith allowed us access to our room in the morning (which was very helpful as we only had one day in Bournemouth) and immediately offered us a tea or coffee after our journey and a slice of cake was placed in our room which was a special touch.The room had a view of the sea and was so comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced, freshly cooked with a variety of additional food on offer such as a genuine fresh fruit salad. We shall definitely return and stay longer than the one night next time. Good luck for your 2014 season Martin and Faith ,but with your hard work and glowing reviews I am sure you will have many returning visitors and their friends and family

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Susan
Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review, we really do appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be great to see you again.
Warm Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A lovely five day stay at the Beach Lodge. Our double and twin rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Martin and Faith work hard to ensure your stay is a pleasure. (Thank you for the lovely daily cakes!).
Top quality food makes for a hearty breakfast.........and very filling.
Thank you both once again and hope to you in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Smudger,
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review, it is greatly appreciated! It was lovely to meet the 4 of you and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the nicest room, with ample space to move about, a good clean bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The whole house is beautifully decorated, clean and welcoming. There is even a guest lounge full of games for those tired moments. Martin and Faith were so helpful with our 'amended' stay and served a great breakfast. Nothing seemed too much trouble for this smiley duo and we hope to return for our 1st anniversary.

Room Tip: we overlooked the road, but it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitabBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Anita
Thank you for writing us a TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. and we look forward to welcoming you again on your 1st Anniversary.
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ve just got back from a short break in Bournemouth. We had a great time, which was topped off by another lovely stay at Beach Lodge. Martin and Faith you both work so hard to keep Beach Lodge so immaculate and such a warm friendly relaxing place to stay. We ll be back soon visiting friends, Thanks again Steve & Sarah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sarah
It was great to see you both again and we are pleased you enjoyed it as much as your first visit! Thank you for taking the time to write us another TripAdvisor review, its very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#3 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Property: Beach Lodge
Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing