We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!”
Review of Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I took my 4 year old away for the weekend to have a girlie weekend while daddy was away on business! We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time. What a beautiful B&B! The house itself is lovely and the room we were in was clean and fresh (so I assume the rest are too). My daughter enjoyed the cake we found in our room each day. She assured me it was delicious, I didn't get a crumb of either piece! She was even given a homemade treat to take on our journey back home. The breakfast was just right too, a good tasty selection, with a thumbs up from my daughter. We were both impressed with the games selection in the sitting room. The location is perfect and since being back my daughter keeps asking when we can take Daddy to the Bed and breakfast. She loved it!!! It has the best atmosphere of any B&B I have ever been to. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tildasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Tildasmum, Thank you for writing us such a great TripAdvisor review. We are so please you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us at Beach Lodge. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you two (and Daddy) soon.
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was the best B&B we have stayed in. Faith & Martin gave this B&B their personal touch from outstanding service through to finishing touches in the decor. A very efficiently-run place, without neglecting the basics of how to be genuine.

All areas were spotless and very well maintained. There was a lot of room for us (being a family of four we normally have to tick this box). My children loved returning after a day at the beach to Faith's home-baked cake.

We were recommended to stay here by one of our friend's (CARMEN!) who stayed in June. She sang their praises, and we echo this too. We've already recommended some of our friends to keep this one in mind! Look forward to seeing Faith and Martin again.

Agnelo

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnelo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Agnelo,
Thank you for the 'Excellent B&B' review. It was great to meet you and your family and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beach Lodge - almost as much as CARMEN ;-)
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Warm Regards,
Martin and Faith
PS Faith liked the 'Thank you' notes so much, they are stilled pinned up in the kitchen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were apprehensive about where to take our 5 month old son on his first holiday but our concerns melted away when we arrived at the Beach Lodge. We were greeted with such warmth that we knew it would be a home from home for our stay.

Our room was comfy, spotless with a nice personal touch, everything had been thought of to make our stay that bit more special and heads above any other B&B we have stayed at.

Nothing was too much trouble for Martin and Faith and their knowledge of Bournemouth and the surrounding area helped us make the most of our stay.

What a wonderful first holiday for us all as a family and we will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Becky
Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review (we know how busy you must be with the baby), it is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy your first holiday with the baby. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you all again next year!
Kind Regards,
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

From the moment we met the Hosts, Faith & Martin, we felt at ease. Nothing was too much trouble, for example we asked Martin for some information regarding the local area and he went away and returned with a google map even though it was during a very busy period for him. Everything was exceptional the food, the room, cleanliness but above all the extra little touches which they provide (who could forget Faith's daily cake which we returned to in the room each evening).An outstanding b&b which we are looking forward to returning to in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Roger
Thank you for writing us such a glowing review, its really kind of you! We enjoyed having you and the family stay with us last week and we're so pleased you all enjoyed it too. We hope to see you all again soon.
Many Thanks
martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a lovely b&b, well deserving of its 4 star rating. The room was clean and welcoming and the beds very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, without being overpowering. The breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Not everyone caters so well for vegetarians! Highly recommended as it is truly only a few yards away from the sea and the shops with a variety of restaurants just a short walk up Grand Avenue. We will definitely be going there again. Parking is also no problem. Even a small fridge was provided for my husband's medication. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure our comfort.

Room Tip: We had the twin room on the first floor with en suite shower. Nice and quiet as it is away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Melody
It was lovely to meet you and your husband and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review, it really is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you both again soon.
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our two children and mother, and we didn't want to leave. The hosts were lovely and made you feel at home from the start, we came back everyday, to the most moorish cake, which was a beautiful touch. Breakfast was fantastic with a varierty of items to choose from. Its location is right on the beach and surronding areas can easily be reached. We will definitely be returning to this A* establishment.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Teborder
Thank you for taking the time to do us a TripAdvisor review, we are very grateful. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt at home. It was great to meet you all, the kids were good fun recounting the previous days activities at breakfast each morning - it made us smile! We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again,
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family comprising my husband; our daughter (17); our son (15) and me had the most wonderful week at Beach Lodge 7th-14th August 2013. Everything was immaculately clean; the rooms were beautifully appointed; the breakfasts were out of this world and the proprietors were totally lovely. Every care had been taken to make our holiday comfortable and relaxing eg home-baked cake appeared in our room every afternoon! Martin and Faith were so friendly and talked to us every day even though, not surprisingly, they had a full house. This is an amazing guest house in every way and is so close to the beach and good shops. Perfect for us and we very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Jill

Thank you so much for the review its very much appreciated! It was really lovely to meet you and your family and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to chat to you each day and it was good to reminisce with Chris about Bournemouth in the 70s etc. We certainly hope you return.We hope Rosie and Henry are pleased with their exam results!!
Warm Regards
Martin and Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $92 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing