We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing guest house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our two children and mother, and we didn't want to leave. The hosts were lovely and made you feel at home from the start, we came back everyday, to the most moorish cake, which was a beautiful touch. Breakfast was fantastic with a varierty of items to choose from. Its location is right on the beach and surronding areas can easily be reached. We will definitely be returning to this A* establishment.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Teborder
Thank you for taking the time to do us a TripAdvisor review, we are very grateful. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt at home. It was great to meet you all, the kids were good fun recounting the previous days activities at breakfast each morning - it made us smile! We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again,
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
182
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family comprising my husband; our daughter (17); our son (15) and me had the most wonderful week at Beach Lodge 7th-14th August 2013. Everything was immaculately clean; the rooms were beautifully appointed; the breakfasts were out of this world and the proprietors were totally lovely. Every care had been taken to make our holiday comfortable and relaxing eg home-baked cake appeared in our room every afternoon! Martin and Faith were so friendly and talked to us every day even though, not surprisingly, they had a full house. This is an amazing guest house in every way and is so close to the beach and good shops. Perfect for us and we very much hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jill

Thank you so much for the review its very much appreciated! It was really lovely to meet you and your family and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to chat to you each day and it was good to reminisce with Chris about Bournemouth in the 70s etc. We certainly hope you return.We hope Rosie and Henry are pleased with their exam results!!
Warm Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just had a fabulous 3 days in sunny Bournemouth (Southbourne) at the fantastic Beach Lodge. It's a lovely place very friendly patrons Martin and Faith and an excellent breakfast! Room was lovely spotless and a good size. The location is perfect just a short stroll from the high street and the cliff tops/beach. Good value and we also had 3 days of sun too! if you want a relaxing stay with great people in a spotless B&B with great breakfasts (and lovely homemade cake) book now!

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Nelly955,
Thank you for writing us a TripAdvisor review, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Faith's cakes!
It's a good tip too about Booking Early :-)
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have just spent two nights as a family at beach lodge, first time in a b&b and the girls ( aged 10&7) loved it, preferring it to hotels, we did too! Such a lovely atmosphere, lovely welcome and delicious home made cakes left each day. Breakfast was a plenty and everything freshly cooked. Perfect location for a family with the beach just two minutes away at one end of the road and a little shopping hub the other with bakeries, deli's and a fab fish&chip shop to buy then eat on the beach at sunset. We couldn't have asked for such a perfect, peacefull and enjoyable two days, thankyou to faith and Martin.. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Lesley
Thank you so much for your Fantastic review! You make it sound so good here in Southbourne (which it is). It was great to have you and your family stay and it's good to hear you are now B&B converts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Many Thanks,
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Enjoyed a seven night stay at Beach Lodge. It is a very clean and in a lovely location within walking distance of the centre of Bournemouth and Christchurch.Faith and Martin are excellent hosts.
The family room is a good size and our daughters enjoyed the home made cakes that were available every evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank filey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Filey1962
Thank you for doing us a TripAdvisor review and so quickly too! It was really lovely to meet you all and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us (and the cakes). We hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks, Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have never felt so happy to stay in a hotel. The welcome from beginning to my leaving was so warm. Faith and Martin cannot do enough for you. My room was full of light and I could view the sunset when there was one. Faith would leave a piece of home made cake for your return at the end of your afternoon, again the personal touch. There was everything you could possibly want for breakfast. which was always freshly cooked for you. The location is perfect. Both locally and for a starting base for further afield. I cannot wait to return again. Thank you Faith and Martin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ann
Thank you for writing us such a great TripAdvisor review, its very much appreciated. It was really lovely to meet you and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. We are both looking forward to seeing you (and your friend) next year. Take care, Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent a brilliant 4 nights at Beach Lodge and could not speak highly enough of it. In terms of location/building etc, it is approximately 5 minutes walk to a lovely sandy, clean beach. The house itself is beautiful. It is impeccably clean, tidy and homely. The welcome/service/hospitality is excellent. When we arrived, it was raining and Faith welcomed us and offered us tea and cake in the lounge, which was very welcome after our journey. We chatted about the local amenities and she took the time to suggest several places we may wish to visit/eat at during our stay. She then showed us to our room and took my heavy bag up for me. Our room was amazing! It was impeccably clean, plenty of space and though it had a sloping ceiling, we loved it. The bathroom was sparkling clean with plenty of room. We had plenty of tea/coffee etc in the room, which was replenished each day. The bathroom had toiletries left for us too. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely - with cereals, toast, fruit, yogurts and a full English breakfast cooked to order. Faith and Martin are lovely hosts who clearly work extremely hard to keep their guests happy. Nothing is too much trouble and they go the extra mile to make the experience as enjoyable as possible. Beach Lodge is not just a cut above the rest, but is actually pretty perfect! We had a fabulous time and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had the Silver Birch room - it was on the front of the house, lovely and light, nice comfy bed, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Alison,
Thank you for your 'Perfect' review, it's very much appreciated and has helped to take up up to number 9 in the rankings for Bournemouth B&Bs :-) It was really nice to meet you both and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Many Thanks,
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Guest House

Property: Beach Lodge Guest House
Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing