We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food from an outstanding pub!”
Review of The Kingsbridge Inn - CLOSED

The Kingsbridge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Under new ownership and re-opening 13th May. A very warm welcome awaits... The Kingsbridge Inn is the oldest pub in Totnes, dating back to the 17th Century. Every nook provides a little history and a lot of character. There is a private function room available upstairs which can be hired for wedding receptions, anniversaries or perhaps a business meeting. Whatever your requirements, the dedicated team will work with you to plan your event. You can even hire our Inn exclusively. Our log burner will keep you cosy on cold winter days, or you can soak up the rays during summer on our decked patio... We even welcome your well-behaved furry friends! Dog snacks available! Let The Kingsbridge Inn be your worst kept secret!
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed lunch at the Kingsbridge Inn today, 16th October 2013. The food is of an extremely high standard and the welcome very good too!

The main course was excellent.... the 'Pie of the day' was venison, packed with beautiful meat , my partner had the Fish Pie - again excellent, for desert a Chocolate Lasagna, which was one of the best deserts I can recall and home made ice cream was a great hit.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rogerlepp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Y, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Roger, thank you so much for writing your review! It was gratefully read and received and we appreciate you taking the time to do this. I sincerely hope we see you again in the not too distant future and in closing I'd like to wish you all the best from the whole team here at the Kingsbridge Inn. Kindest regards, Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

The best meal we had on our recent visit to Totnes. The menu was really imaginative and the food was presented beautifully and tasted as good as it looked! Unfortunately the night we visited was foul and its a long uphill walk from the bottom of the town in pouring rain - but worth it. We were there on a Sunday night out of season so there was not too much atmosphere - I imagine it suffers from its slightly out of the way location. Some places in the centre of town seem to be busier though their food is not as good. The wine list was perfectly fine and the real ale served as it should be. Overall the price was very acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 79Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Y, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mike, many thanks indeed for your review. It was much appreciated and extremely honest and fair! We are tucked away a bit and this makes it harder for us to be noticed, hence being "the best kept secret in Totnes"! I am so glad you felt your hike through the rain was worth it! We know that once we have had a chance to show a customer what we can offer, they are almost certainly inclined to return, and in most cases, return they do ... often time and time again. It is just getting people to come in on that first occasion ... this is our biggest challenge!! Thank you for making that effort! Kindest regards from the Kingsbridge team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

There were definite positives to his visit, and in fairness it was a busy Sunday. Nether the less our food was definitely cooling by the time it got to us, perhaps not taken straight to table? And most of the items on the limited desert board had sold out. Staff were very personable and clearly working hard. I had the nut roast and felt it would have benefitted from being served with a tomato sauce rather than gravy.

Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Y, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Michaal C, thank you for your review, it is always appreciated. As you rightly stated, it was a busy Sunday and that is good for us of course, but I am sorry you felt it influenced the quality and enjoyment of your Sunday lunch. We have been open for just over two years, and have worked extremely hard (often against the odds in this current economic climate) to build a firm business. We're not out of the woods yet but have established ourselves as one of the most popular eating places in and around Totnes. You were fair and detailed in your comments but your average rating is naturally disappointing to us. However, we respect your view and all I can say is that we are soon to be starting our next phase of expensive improvements. This will mainly be in the investment of further kitchen appliances. This will not only reduce the time it takes to produce our homemade food, but will in turn guarantee that hot dishes remain so for longer meaning your meals will arrive at the table more promptly and at the desired temperature. With regard to running out of desserts, this is indeed a problem when the food is freshly made on site and we have a full restaurant. It is still difficult to predict numbers of customers, even after being open for over two years. I apologise for the fact you were not able to choose what you wanted - that must have been frustrating. All I can say is please call again some time to give us another go. We are good (our excellent rating on Trip Advisor is no fluke) but we relish the chance to prove it to everyone. Many thanks again and kind regards from the Kingsbridge Inn team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner and myself phoned the Kingsbridge
on a Sunday lunchtime, leaving it almost far too late.

However the very pleasant girl,
managed to fit us in,taking our requirements
there and then so as to order and prepare our roast.

I agree with the previous review,
the lunch was wonderful,
with the beef and veg being perfectly cooked.
The service was excellent
as were the welcome drinks from the bar.

Thanks to the owners and staff,
for making our Sunday lunch so enjoyable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xTimeTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Y, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Keith, thank you so much for writing your review, we appreciate it enormously. That fact that it was such a positive one, makes it even more special! We do hope we see you again soon! Kindest regards from all the team at the Kingsbridge!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The meal was awesome.
We were told that there may be a delay - 15 mins was quite acceptable.
The starter of houmous / pigeon breast were both gorgeous.
Mains Cod/venison (see photos) were superb. Great recommendation - will return when we are next in Totnes.
SUPERB !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deklamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Y, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Deklamb - Your comments and rating are much appreciated - thank you for taking the trouble to write!
Best wishes and kindest regards from the Kingsbridge Inn team ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kingsbridge Inn also viewed

Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
 
Totnes, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing