We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Kingsbridge Inn - CLOSED

The Kingsbridge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Under new ownership and re-opening 13th May. A very warm welcome awaits... The Kingsbridge Inn is the oldest pub in Totnes, dating back to the 17th Century. Every nook provides a little history and a lot of character. There is a private function room available upstairs which can be hired for wedding receptions, anniversaries or perhaps a business meeting. Whatever your requirements, the dedicated team will work with you to plan your event. You can even hire our Inn exclusively. Our log burner will keep you cosy on cold winter days, or you can soak up the rays during summer on our decked patio... We even welcome your well-behaved furry friends! Dog snacks available! Let The Kingsbridge Inn be your worst kept secret!
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was excellent. Not cheap but worth a visit for good night out, especially for an occassion. Nice wine and good beer (when we visited they had Butcombe and Otter Ale). Pleasant, fairly informal, atmosphere with professional service and food presentation which means its relaxing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    42
    21
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
260 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch, on Sunday. Huge portions good prices and friendly service. It's an old pub so try and sit at the back where there is a roaring fire. The chef obviously knows his job as Sunday lunch can be a difficult meal to get right. Will definitely go back to try an evening meal.

Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were staying for just a couple of nights in Totnes and were recommended, by our hosts at the four seasons guest house, to try the Kingsbridge Inn. I am certainly glad we did. I had a fabulous meal and the staff were really friendly and helpful. As we sat at a table in the 'pub' side we were able to take the dog with us (not allowed of course in the main restaurant). It was busy (but not too busy) and had a great atmosphere, can highly recommend the food, with some more unusual choices among the standard fair.
Lovely open fire and character building. Would use it regularly if I lived there.
Booking before you go is to be recommended as we only just got a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beth1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Really fantastic food. Brilliant service, very kind people. Was worth every penny. All courses were presented very well and tasted as good as it looked! Really happy with the meal and would certainly go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophielmgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Gabriel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We phoned to book for a Sunday Lunch and were asked if we minded sitting upstairs. We didn't think that would be a problem. However, upstairs is very dark and echo's from the flooring and from the other people talking were very off putting. The meal was very well cooked and presented well, but eating it in the surroundings we were in were far from pleasurable and we left as soon as we had eaten. Downstairs appears a lot better, a beautiful old pub with lots of character, but I was put off by the experience unfortunately.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandyblackburn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kingsbridge Inn also viewed

 
Totnes, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing