We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Daisy Cottage is a delightful bolt hole - that...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Daisy Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Totnes, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daisy Cottage is a delightful bolt hole - that you!”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very compact but brilliantly presented and spotlessly clean. We really enjoyed our two nights in Totnes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well presented
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well presented when we arrived, nice quiet street, shops handy”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

A lovely place to stay, enjoyed the open Fireplace and we got full benefit from it as the weather turned really cold at night.
The place was immaculate and very comfortable for the two of us.
Would not hesitate to recommend to anybody

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro193
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little cottage close to the centre of Totnes and the river.”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable bed. Well presented cottage. Clean and welcoming.
Ideal for self catering. Only thing that could improve it would be curtains at the Windows, though the main door and bathroom have blinds. Car parking has to be in a few roads away but it was not a problem in October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed and quiet street.
Liked least: No curtains
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andybott6...
1 review
“An amazing central location”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Daisy Cottage was in an ideal location for visiting Devon and walking into Totnes for food each evening. The owners have a lovely cottage and have made it very welcoming - this includes a food package which came in handy the following morning. I would happily choose this cottage next time we stay in Totnes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa J
Tilehurst, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect long weekend break”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Daisy Cottage is small but perfectly formed. Close to Totnes centre and a great base for exploring South Devon & Cornwall. Couldn't fault the accommodation, very comfy and cosy, a bargain for the price of a long weekend. We will definitely return. Thank you James.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguelo37...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, not great experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Daisy Cottage is a lovely cottage, very compact but also very well equipped and nicely presented. Top notch, but best suited to a couple, as it would be a bit of a squeeze for any more for any length of time.

If you want to understand the lower rating, which is based on the experience and not the accommodation itself, please read on.

I booked the accommodation for one night for the Dart 10k swim. It was expensive for one night, but a lot cheaper than a week or a short break. At the time, I noted that the cottage accommodates 4, and that the price was the same for 2 or 4, as you would expect for self-catering accommodation, but made the fatal mistake of only booking for two people.

Roll forward to a couple of days before the swim, by which point my wife had decided that she would like to come and watch and a second friend was also swimming and I'd offered that they could stay with us. I dropped a note to let the owner know that we would be four, and the immediate response was that he wanted more money from me. When I explained that the price on the website was the same for two or four people, he responded by saying that he would cancel the booking and leave me in the lurch.

So there I was, with the option of trying to find accommodation in Totnes two days before the swim (impossible) or negotiating with the owner. He decided that he would let us stay provided that I pay an extra £50 'to cover his additional expenses'. I had no choice but to say yes.

In the end, he had laid on extra sheets (fair enough, an extra expense to wash them etc), but £50?? To some people this might seem reasonable, but it didn't to me.

So my advice is, if you want somewhere nice to stay in Totnes, consider this, but I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing