We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay! Great value! Great location !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Forge at Totnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Forge at Totnes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay! Great value! Great location !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Me and my two daughters stayed here in september in the cottage suite and I can't believe anyone would complain about it ! It has two bedrooms, one with a double and one with a single bed and it was perfect, there's a little kitchenette and a little lounge with a bathroom. It's not the biggest suite ever but it has everything we needed for our stay and more! And was absolutely spotless! The owners and staff were lovely people and couldn't help us more, we had a lovely breakfast which was probably one of the best b&b breakfasts Ive had. Very lovely area and very convenient as it's just outside the centre of town but there was no disturbance from the town, overall it was a lovely stay and we will most definitely be returning !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyfun333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for you reassuring review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We do work hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and really appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to meeting you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    34
    23
    19
    7
See reviews for
21
71
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in the family suite (a converted garage). 2 bedrooms ( 1 with 2 single beds and another with 1 double bed). There was a small kitchen like area cramped in with a very small lounge sort of area. No cooker, but fridge, microwave, cutlery and sink was handy. It was very dated in serious need of decor. It was also very cramped. The entrance was covered in cob webs and we found about 3 spiders inside. The TV was ancient and of poor quality... with no free view channels. No WIFI in room. All I could think of was how to improve the suite.The owners are not great talkers and not as cheerful as expected, however given time they did chill out a bit,and we did get a few smiles and the breakfast was nice and tasty. However, it would have been nice to get 2 pieces of sausage not 1 little skinny one. Poor towel quality. Overall not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRIBE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to make it clear, to any guests booked into the Cottage Suite in the near future, that it is most definitely not a 'converted' garage. It is the original Wheelwrights Cottage built alongside the Forge 600 years ago. The original stone wheel is set into the ground outside the cottage door.
There has only ever been a smithy and stables with this property, never a garage.

We are sorry that you obviously were not happy with our accommodation. It is however inspected every year and rated at 4 stars. The bathroom was replaced last year and the kitchenette the year before. It is not marketed as self-catering accommodation but as a family suite with two bedrooms. The small kitchen is for families with young children or elderly relatives so that small amounts of food can be heated or snacks can be prepared. A cooker would not be suitable in this room. It does however, have a fridge and microwave and we have many guests book this room year after year.

I am so sorry about the spiders, the rascals, we do clear cobwebs away and rehome any spiders but at certain times of the year they can spin a web as soon as you have got rid of one. We will be extra vigilant in future.

Our towels are all white Egyptian cotton and of a high quality. I will double check to make sure we have no worn ones in stock.

We find you comments about our lack of chattiness and smiles quite impolite. My husband spent a lot of time with the gentleman of your party advising him on places to go and chatted to him for quite a while. He actually said, on leaving that he had an enjoyable stay.

The cottage has been recently decorated and is painted a pale yellow. It is heated by storage heaters and is warm and cosy accommodation, ideal for a family. I am sorry that your were not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Totnes hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Another wonderful stay at this delightful B&B. A 'home from home', we have enjoyed coming back to the friendly and welcoming hosts and our lovely room.

We have now stayed in room 11 through different months of the year and we were very pleased to return from the cold and wet October weather into a warm, clean and cosy environment. The room is spacious, very clean with plenty of space to store all our clothes and belongings, the bedding was very comfortable and the W.C facilities are definitely to our taste.

Breakfast was again excellent, and as a vegetarian, there was plenty to choose from including the option of a full English breakfast with veggie sausages and soya milk and delicious filter coffee. My partner was equally pleased with the variety of hot cooked food, cereals, fruit and beverages and other homely surprises. A lovely touch too - The filter coffee was served elegantly in the glass cafetiere. We found our morning breakfasts very enjoyable and prepared us for the full days ahead.

We have always found our hosts friendly, polite and very welcoming. We look forward to seeing them on our visits as they ensure we are comfortable, well looked after and are very helpful to us. The lady who cleaned our room was also very lovely.

Thank you again for accommodating us and for all the wonderful efforts made, to make our stay again thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.
We will certainly be recommending you in future and will hopefully be returning again.

Room Tip: Using the heater and closing the window makes the room very warm and cosy, even in cold months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbonriver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent some time at the Old Forge in October. I did not mind the cold welcome others mentioned in their reviews but what I did mind was the very poor sound insulation between rooms and extremely noisy plumbing. Despite wearing earplugs I could hear everything from the adjoining room and from the room above and each time my neighbors turned on the tap or flushed the toilet it was extremely loud - I mean very, very loud. I have spent a lot of time in hotels and B&Bs through work and I found this one the worst. I find it hard to believe some of the positive reviews about this place. A cooked breakfast was out of the question before 8am except one morning after a group of contractors arrived and must have insisted upon it and I suppose they had to offer the same to me. Expensive, cramped and noisy - never again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bbonriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It is very frustrating when the first time you realise that there is a problem with a guests stay is when you read about it on Tripadvisor!
If we had known that you had particularly noisy neighbours and that you were not happy, we would have gladly moved you to another room. There was an upstairs room vacant for the whole of your stay. It is important to us that our guests are comfortable.

With regard to your breakfasts, when you arrived you told my husband that you required an early breakfast and were happy with cereal and toast as that was what you always had at home. If a guest requires an early cooked breakfast we are more than happy to do that. When we offered you a cooked breakfast on the last day, because we were already cooking, you only wanted a poached egg on toast! We never told you that a cooked breakfast was 'out of the question'

We can assure you that the positive reviews are all true. We have made many friends out of the guests who stay at The Old Forge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our third visit to this wonderful B&B this year and it was a real pleasure to stay here again. Contrary to some of the reviews about poor service we have always felt welcome and accomodated for.

ROOM:
We chose to stay in the annex room again as it's become a favourite of ours with the decking and garden right outside the door.
A very good few nights sleep thanks to the comfortable mattress and additional blankets during the odd cold spell.
The bathroom was a decent size, spotlessly clean and the power shower felt like bliss after some cold, wet afternoons on our walks.

BREAKFAST:
There are a vast aray of breakfast options with the standard full English with veggie option available, continental alternatives and self-serve cereal, toast, condiments and varied selection of fruit. Waffles and pancakes are bought in rather than made fresh but that's only a small gripe when considering the efforts made to cater for varying tastes and requirements.
Also impressed with the inclusion of soya milk as a lactose-free alternative - something
Totnes itself seems to cater for, which is lovely when your other half is veggie and cannot have much lactose or wheat.

OTHER:
The garden was very nice. Benches and tables are laid out and you can even request to hang clothes on the line should they need drying off. The free wi-fi worked in both the garden and conservatory so looking at some local 'things-to-do' websites was hassle-free. I did manage to get a signal near the door in the annex room too despite being advised it may not work, so that was a bonus.
There is a jacuzzi/hot-tub in the conservatory - haven't tried it but it looks well looked after.

Overall the stay was delightful and we' will be returning in October for another Devon break.
A real home from home - thank you to all at The Old Forge! :-)

Rik and Lucy
London

Room Tip: Annex is slightly more expensive but you get what you pay for - extra convenience (no carrying cases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here this weekend as it was close to Dartmouth and the cycling Tour of Britain. Good directions on the web site, useful parking, excellent location in the centre of Totnes. Slightly put off by the room being in an annex in the garden, you have to go outside and across the garden, okay in the dry, may not so appealing in the rain, no wi-fi out there but worked in the conservatory. Small but well appointed room, tea and coffee and kettle provided, tv with free view, small but decent bathroom, good shower, decent sized bed, duvet a bit thin, okay as weather warm. Breakfast good, self service cereals, juice, toast, full cooked english also available. Friendly hosts. Quite expensive but seems average for the area. Lots to do and see around Totnes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Parking extremely difficult, room very small and bathroom almost impossibly tiny. Could hardly sit on the loo - the shower was in the way; couldn't shower without banging your arms and no room to towel yourself dry without coming out into the bedroom. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surferboi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. As mentioned in earlier reviews, this building is 600 years old and some of our rooms are not big. However, although the bathroom in your room is small, the shower is a standard size shower and not an extra small one. If you were unhappy with the room we would have been more than happy to discuss this with you and move you to one of our larger rooms.
I am surprised that you found parking a 'nightmare'. We are one of the few establishments in Totnes that does have its own car park. We have a space for all of our guests vehicles but occasionally have to shuffle around if a guest has a van or a large 4x4. This does not happen often but we make sure no one has to park off the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Dartington Hall
Dartington Hall
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge at Totnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge at Totnes

Property: The Old Forge at Totnes
Address: Seymour Place, Totnes TQ9 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge at Totnes 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Forge at Totnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge At Totnes Hotel Totnes
The Old Forge Totnes
The Old Forge At Totnes Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing