We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful vintage tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vintage Tea - CLOSED

Vintage Tea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful vintage tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were greeted with a warm welcome and many apologies for having to wait whilst they set the table (all of two minutes and it was a busy lunch time).
The tea room is bright and airy, with a very tranquil atmostphere, I especially love the china tea service.
There is a huge selection of teas on offer, including the standard breakfast tea, which we had, plus toasted cheese and ham sandwiches.
A wonderful way to relax and enjoy the atmostphere, we will definitetly be going back when we are next in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Vintage tea rooms are worth a visit there were six adults and two children in our party and we had an amazing time.
We all had cream teas. Wow we were not disappointed the scones were gorgeous presentation was second to none and all the staff were so friendly.
Ten out Ten for a truly wonderful treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitchener50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pricy and canned salmon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very nice looking and well thought of. We had a salmon (salmon from a can) sandwich on sliced supermarket bread, a sparkling water and a ploughmans lunch, the ploughman must be a midget as the plate was small. Our "lunch" cost £18.70, not great value at all as I had to get a sandwich up the road. Staff were nice, surroundings lovely.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageTea, Owner at Vintage Tea, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We would like to assure you that we do not use tinned salmon. All our kiln roasted salmon is from Mike's Smokehouse in Kingsbridge as is stated on the menu. Our bread is baked fresh and delivered daily by Halletts Bakery in Paignton. It is very important to us that we use as much quality and local produce as possible. All our cakes, scones, soups, tartlets etc are baked on the premises, again with only quality ingredients. We always endeavour to provide value for money in a friendly, relaxing environment. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice tea room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We are locals and have only just discovered this lovely tea room. The sandwich and cream tea which we ordered was very nice, a little pricey but none the less a real afternoon treat. I would agree with another recent comment about the 'older' waitress not being particularly friendly though. We asked for a spoon to serve the jam and cream and she looked absolutely horrified and passed one spoon without comment!! We will definitely go back but would like to think that maybe that particular waitress would be more welcoming next time. Whatever happened to 'service with a smile??'. Costs nothing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nice place. Waitress unfriendly, verging on rude.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The crockery and food/drink is lovely. There is unfortunately an older waitress in there who gives off a negative vibe and borders on rudeness. The other staff were lovely and I would go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageTea, Owner at Vintage Tea, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am sorry to hear that a member of our staff did not give you the service that you should have received. All our staff receive customer service training and we always strive to give our customers a friendly and efficient service. If you are kind enough to visit us again I would be most grateful if you would give me some more information so that we can get to the bottom of the situation.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Tea also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing