We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of New Walk Restaurant - CLOSED

New Walk Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $319
Cuisines: French, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a really lovely meal here on Sat night with friends. The restaurant has a pre-food bar area which we didn't go in, but looked cosy and welcoming. The dining area upstairs is spacious, warm and had a nice buzz to it with plenty of people dining. I really like that the food is sourced locally. Amongst our party we had venison, pheasant, roasted butternut squash salad, breaded risotto balls, chocolate brownie, ice cream, cheese, creme brulee... all beautifully cooked and served, as well as being very reasonably priced. The restaurant do a fixed menu 2 or 3 courses which is even better value too.
The staff were really friendly and looked after us brilliantly. Will definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cshearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

A belated thank you for your Fantastic review.
So glad you enjoyed your evening with us.
I hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely cosy atmosphere friendly staff Suze the front of house v good - food - great - perfect evening

Thank TotnesHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The log burner was up and running and the whole place had a lovely feel to it. Only popped in to meet friends for coffee and breakfast but would like to try lunch or dinner as the service and food quality was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WarwickAvenue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

A very late thank you for your super review.
I am so glad you love New Walk as much as I do.
Regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've been in here a few times for coffee and breakfast but this was the first time sitting in the restaurant area. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the festive food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening from start to finish. I can now highly recommend the Brasserie for breakfast, lunch, dinner and coffee!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joso157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Sorry for the late reply, OMG how time flies!
Thank you for your great review.
Christmas is fast becoming a bit of speciality at New Walk, so with out wishing the year away, we hope to see you next time, and many times in between.
Regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a fantastic wedding reception at New Walk! We wanted to keep our celebrations local & spend our money in the places we love to go & we love New Walk! We invited 50 friends & family & the atmosphere was great. The food was excellent & the service efficient & friendly. We had a welcome glass of bubbly and then we went upstairs for a three course sit down meal. Everything about it was first class and nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff. We would thouroughly recommend New Walk for any family gathering or celebration of any kind. Its also great for a meal out at any time of the week!

Jan & Richard from Totnes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 436JanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

I have already told you both this in person, but here it is for the record.


It was a pleasure and privilege for all the team, for you to have chosen us as your venue for your wedding. It was a fabulous occasion and of course we wish you many many happy times together.

Best wishes always, and thank you for your lovely review,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Walk Restaurant also viewed

 
Littlehempston, Totnes
Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing