We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveler rating
324
187
74
43
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
187
74
43
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christiechampagne barsister hotelroyal castlelovely hotelbar foodcoaching innfour posterdaniel defoedouble parkingmain barfunction roomwatch the worlda small car parkjacuzzi bathsalmonfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 656 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent four very comfortable nights at this lively popular hotel. The building itself is full of character and there are plenty of bar and restaurant facilities on the premises. It's location is second to none and the staff are very friendly and helpful. For the price we would suggest a hair-dryer be available in every room but apart from that we have no criticism.

Room Tip: We were in room No.17 which overlooks the "plains" in Totnes - some noise on the Friday evening from the music night downstairs but it was bearable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gands986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The building does indeed have a great deal of character and a long history. Our rooms do come with hair dryers as a standard and am sorry that yours was missing. If ever there is a problem and you don’t appear to have the items you would expect in our rooms, please do let reception know and we will endeavour to provide whatever you require. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife booked a table for 2 at the TQ9 restaurant for Saturday night, when we arrived we where seated by the window which was just perfect, we ordered our starter and main, we did not wait long before our starter arrived and I must say the taste of the prawns with salad laying on toasted bread in a lovely sauce was delicious. The the main course arrived which I asked the steak to be well done no blood or pink (I know its not the correct way to have steak, but I like it that way) It was cooked to perfection for me with the wine sauce and chunky chips. Well done to Margaret and her staff for such a lovely meal and a perfect evening on my birthday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

This is such a great review, thank you. Our head chef John and our restaurant supervisor Silvie do their utmost to make every experience in the Brasserie an enjoyable one. It is especially good to hear that your experience was so enjoyable on such a special day. We hope to see you again for the next special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Once again, we visited the Royal Seven Stars Hotel, Totnes. As always, the management and staff made sure our stay was perfect. The hotel itself is an interesting building, the staff are dedicated, breakfasts to die for and the evening meal be in it the TQ9 Restaurant or in the dining room attached to the Saloon Bar could not be faulted. Different menus each day in the TQ9. This is a Brasserie and Champagne Bar.
Very busy whilst we were there, live music on Friday evenings - this we enjoyed immensely.
The rooms are beautiful, beds are most comfortable and pristine. Everything just perfect. What more can I say. Plenty to do in Totnes - wander round the charming town, try looking beyond Fore Street and along the numerous side streets. There is the Steamer Quay 5 mins. walk away, where a whole day can be spent on the "Round Robin", water. steam, bus.

Room Tip: Totnes is quite a "lively" place, so bound to be some noise, whichever room you are in. This did not bother us or anyone else staying there.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

A wonderful review of the hotel and I am glad to hear that your stay was ‘perfect’. Our live music on Friday evenings is certainly something to look forward to each week – the perfect way to kick off your weekend! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we stayed in the Agatha Christie room. nicely decorated and the most comfortable four poster bed. staff were extremely helpful and friendly. ice cubes in the ice bucket every day and a personalised hand written note in our room when we arrived. spa bath (don't really get them myself). car park small but we did not struggle to get a space and staff happy to park your car for you if required. lovely central location, the downside of that is that we had a noisy night with people making noise outside until late and a seagull dawn chorus but we live in the middle of nowhere so anywhere is noiser than we are used to and I don;t think you can blame the hotel for the noise outside.
Breakfast was really good although the second day I ordered porridge and it was under cooked, I suspect because the chef does not eat porridge, as all the other food we had was top notch

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed just one night at this hotel which we chose from Trip Advisor reviews. The staff were very friendly especially the receptionists who gave us a warm welcome. The room was small but comfortable and extremely clean. Our room No.12 overlooked the bus/coach stop and unfortunately some of the buses kept their engines running for some time but that was just a small irritation. The bar food and breakfast were excellent. Enormous quantities of food again which seem to be the norm now in most hotels and B&Bs in the UK. Nevertheless our stay was great. The Hotel is in an ideal location for strolling through this lovely town. Not enough parking space is a slight problem as one has to leave the car keys with the staff who move the cars around if one is blocked in nevertheless our stay was great. Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews