We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wooll9”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wooll9”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Attended Murder Mystery evening and stayed over night. Murder Mystery evening excellent, actors were very good. Wide choice of food, game casserole superb and so was my husband's salmon with a wonderful selection of vegetables. Our stay was very enjoyable,the staff were helpful in particular the Manager Margaret Stone. Lovely breakfast. Room beautiful and clean, would curtainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    162
    55
    31
    16
See reviews for
97
241
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Warm, vibrant atmosphere - an ideal venue for a good pint with friends or a with the paper or a good book.
Beer well kept and served; a choice of 4 real ales, cashew nuts too and a decent food menu with food available all day'
Its a pity all 4 ales were bitters - how about some other styles? - stout, special pale ales, old ales, porters, golden ales. A little imagination needed - why include ale brewed in Totnes - its ''local''.
Food could improve too - it is ah hotel kitchen. My Game Casserole was poorly seasoned, no evidence of herbs, meat in poorly cut chunks with gristle etc that would have provided flavour - if the meat been cooked longer and slower. The new potatoes were over cooked and the veg simply plain/boring - all microwaved. Wife's pork loin was cooked well with nice apple sauce. More quality and less quantity should be possible.
Staff in bar were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejenny5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Agatha Christie room. From arrival to departure the staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly, approachable staff. Excellent menus, cocktails, wonderful breakfasts. Best of all was the bed. Sheer heaven. Good selection of well kept beers. Really good location for exploring the town. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

One night stay but took all our meals here as the food was so good and reasonable. It's privately owned and it shows in the service given by the charming staff. Only slight disappointment was the room which even though we paid for an upgrade was pretty small with electric shower. Maybe being privately owned means less funds for room for out? The hotel has 3 bars all of which have different vibes but all of which have same great food. The hotel and bars were busy which isn't surprising. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had stayed here before and selected it for a 2 day break over Valentines day. The hotel is very well positioned at the bottom of the High Street and has lots of character. The receptionist, Annie, was very helpful when we made the booking and we were very warmly received. The room ( Agatha Christie) was faultless and overlooked Fore St. We dined at the hotel on the 2 evenings and the range and quality of food could not be faulted. The fresh fish from Brixham was especially good. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly. We shall certainly be returning as apart from staying at such a lovely hotel,Totnes is very centrally placed for touring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very welcoming, great food, sumptuous bed, proper power shower and really nice freebie shower gel and lotions. Fabulous value for money. They don't have a lift so not particularly accessible - but they carried my luggage for me and once I had managed the stairs to my room I used room service to have a great meal in my room with my feet up.

Room Tip: No lift but they will carry luggage for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I (and the dog) have been here before and this latest trip was as enjoyable as ever.
Very nice well furnished and exceptionally clean ensuite room. The bar has a lovely warm and cosy ambience. Bar food is good and the breakfast is excellent, also great that the dog was made so welcome. The staff are all friendly, welcoming and efficient from reception to the bar and the breakfast room.

Totnes is a a really interesting quirky town and the Royal Seven Stars makes visiting a real pleasure. Thank you, we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firenze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
7.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Property: Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing