We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Family Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Family Break”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Twelve of us aged 1 to 49 have just stayed at Kineton and Cavasson. The whole family had a great time. Much use was made of the swimming pool and tennis court and the cottages are all furnished to a good specification. Trips out to many local attractions, pub lunches various and great weather meant everybody had a fantastic time.

A big thank you to Peter and Sue who made us very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've had a lovely week at Pitt Farm - we stayed in Martingale and all the rooms are very spacious and well equiped. The pool, playpark, play room and tennis courts are a brilliant benefit and we were able to spend a couple of days onsite relaxing with plenty to keep everyone entertained (3 years to 70 years!). A daily highlight for the children was watching Pete feeding the animals and he really engaged with the children. Sue and Pete couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable and the wee shop is a brilliant idea - stocked with treats and essentials to save you having to leave the site for something as simple as milk. There's loads to do in the area and although the roads are narrow with high hedges (drive slowly) there's enough to do in a 10 mile radius for a week. We also had a lovely walk along the bridlepath to East Allington for Sunday lunch in the pub. I would highly recommend this and means that you don't have to get in the cars for once!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our first visit to Pitt Farm was for a family birthday weekend, we stayed in Pelham and Snaffle (there were 18 of us). More recently we have spent a week in Snaffle as a considerably smaller family unit.

Pete and Sue are perfect hosts, warm, welcoming and friendly. They leave scones and cream for your arrival, which is a delightful way to start a West Country holiday.
The cottages are clean and well maintained, the pool is a good temperature and all the equipment for the games room is in fine fettle.

Chickens, goats and happy piggies make a proper farm feel for the children, big and small. The playground is also great for the littler ones.

It's also great being able to have the supermarkets in Dartmouth or Totnes deliver direct.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just spent a week at Pitt Farm and thoroughly enjoyed every bit. We stayed in Kimblewick, Martingale and Cavasson (there were 25 of us in total) All three properties were clean and welcoming Martingale being the largest with fantastic sized reception rooms to fit all 25 in for dinner. Pete and Sue are lovely hosts and very accomodating. We enjoyed the cream teas and bottles of wine on arrival. The pool was used almost everyday and the childrens play area is very useful with trampoline and swings and a well crafted activity boat with slide and cargo net. We would definitly recommend this for a large family reunion or quiet holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise-d82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just completed 2 great weeks with our 5 and 3 year old children. Pete and Sue make you and the children feel very at home, the facilities are great for families with the pool, playground and farm. The cottages are exceptionally clean and have all you need for a family holiday. The location is just perfect for exploring the South Hams and the views from the farm itself stunning - particularly the sunset over the hills! We will return and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSG1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We, 3 adults and 2 children, 3years and 5 months have just spent a week in Snaffle cottage. The cottage is extremely spacious , well equiped with all the necessary items. Pete and Sue are very good hosts, nothing is too much trouble, and the scones and wine which were left for us were a nice extra touch.
The swimming pool, games room , tennis court and childrens play area were all put to good use.
Despite the rain we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it is a nice place to come home to each day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed in Martingale with my husband, 3yr old and 4 month old. My Mum and My brother and sister-in-law and their two teenagers.
Scones with jam and clotted cream and bottle of wine waiting for us in kitchen. The pool was great, young and old loved it.
The beds were comfortable and the living areas clean. Pete and Sue very helpful and friendly.
Even the bad weather didn't ruin the stay.
We had the downstairs of the cottage with a twin room and double which gave us our own space and kept an over tried 3yr old and 2 stroppy teenage girls apart.
Lots to do near by, Becky's fall, Paignton Zoo, Crealy Park are great for the young and old a like.
All sad to leave, We will be back.

Room Tip: Martingale is great for large group. Upstairs a double room, twin and Triple rooms and Bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank we-care
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
6.8 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
7.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 27 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: East Allington, Totnes TQ9 7QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Totnes
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful South Devon these 7 stunning self-catering holiday cottages are fully equipped to provided a relaxing stay. All the cottages are Visit Britain 4* rated. Facilities on site include an indoor heated swimming pool, games room, tennis court and outdoor play area. We have a variety of animals including pigs, goats, ducks and chickens which keep everyone amused. Open all year with short breaks available outside of the peak seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitt Farm Holiday Cottages Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing