We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
99
35
14
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
35
14
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great portion sizes hot shower would recommend this place to anyone sunday lunch food was fantastic feel very welcome family get together visiting totnes steak lovely meal pie well worth a visit short stay pint chips gravy
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 162 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

We visited Totnes via the South Devon Railway for Lunch.strolled around and found this little pub for lunch. Menu was varied, food was excellent and piping hot( pie gravy still bubbling when brought to the table!).Excellent value for money too. Would recommend this little gem to anyone as has great Vegitarian choices too.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Overall the stay was comfortable but for £80 without breakfast, not cheap.
Room was advertised as ‘luxurious’ and was large but there was a nasty smell in the corridor outside the room (drains?).This was reported but not resolved on the night we stayed. The room (4) was noisy but it’s a town centre pub so unsurprising. Also there was no parking which was a bit of a pain.
The fire safety notice ;see photo) was blank which was poor and needs rectifying.
The host was welcoming and the pub seemed friendly but wouldn’t return I’m afraid.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Smithpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Came here for a quick bite to eat before sampling what the rest of Totnes had to offer.

We were lucky enough to take advantage of the two for one fish and chips offer. I can only say that it was more than worth the money. The fish was beautifully crispy and the mushy peas were lovely. The chips and tartare sauce were standard fare but more than acceptable. Staff were friendly and attentive and service was prompt. Would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Great welcome by the bar staff. They took our drinks order and showed us the menu for their special offer cocktails at £5 We decided to have there special offer lunch of two meals for £14.00, there was a lot to choose from. We both decided on the scampi and chips which arrived quickly and was really well presented. Quality and price were excellent and with the welcome we were given, we will be back soon.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ColintGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

A relative visited Totnes recently and in all honesty, she can be a bit of a fuss pot when it comes to eating. I had to really think about where I might take her and what would be on offer and would it be reasonably priced. Well, I needn't have worried. We had two delicious meals and lovely wine all for a great price. The service was speedy, and attention to detail was noted by us both. The bar staff were polite and efficient. Thanks very much, will be back again soon I hope.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank roscoeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews