We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
98
35
14
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
35
14
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great portion sizes apple cider hot shower quick drink would recommend this place to anyone sunday lunch food was fantastic feel very welcome family get together visiting totnes steak lovely meal pie well worth a visit landlord phil
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 161 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Nice pub, friendly staff and comfy bed with quality bed linen. However, room was in need of redecoration & DIY attention. No noise from pub itself however, lots of noise from slamming doors inside and people outside late night and early morning made sleep difficult.

Room tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

The hotel has a good location right in the heart of the town. The room was clean and the beds comfortable, although the room was a little cramped. The bathroom was clean but a little dated. The toilet use a macerator which went of at loud volume throughout the night.
The hotels provided ear plugs in the room and it soon became clear why as there is a lot of street noise throughout the night from both traffic negotiating the junction outside the hotel and people using the pub below. The corridor has a very loud fire door which slams shut with a loud noise.
The hotel would do well to invest in double glazing,
Rather bizarrely, despite being a restaurant, the hotel did not provide breakfast,

Room tip: Avoid rooms at the front as they are very noisy.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

Visited here on a cold day after a trip up the river from Dartmouth. We stumbled upon the King William while looking for a dog friendly place for lunch. So glad we did. Biscuits and water was brought for the dog and great food for us.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Hi we had just had a walk around Totnes, and popped in to the King William for something to eat.
We had a very warm welcome on entering and got shown to a table for 2. We ordered a fruit juice and looked at the menu and decided to have the pork sandwich with a side of roast potatoes with 2 little dishes 1 of grave and 1 of apple sauce.
And when it came out it looked and tasted delicious, the potatoes stayed lovely and hot while eating the sandwich full of fantastic tasting pork, we dipped the roast potatoes in the gravy and apple sauce (Just mouth watering YUM YUM).
We followed this with home made bread and butter pudding (This was out of this world) so light with a raspberry coulis and custard.
We finished of with a latte and the service and meal was totally outstanding, a credit to the chef or chef's and all the staff top marks.

All the best from Dave and Julia Turner.

Room tip: Please note only had food and did not stay in the hotel.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Having walked out of a famous hotel in Totnes at lunchtime because of indifferent and inefficient service, it was a pleasure to walk into the King William and be immediately greeted and welcomed!
The food was good too - for me, one of the best veggie burgers around. Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AriadneGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther Y, Owner at King William IV Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Thank you for your very kind review. The veggie Burger is great! one of my favourites. I'm pleased that you had such a warm welcome. Look forward to seeing you again if you are in Totnes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews