We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King William IV Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Totnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stopped by for a drink and booked a table for dinner after SInead's smooth talking sales pitch! Ate from the tapas style menu and it was Wonderful food! Also tried some cocktails! Service was attentive but not over powering - really hope this venture is successful as it adds another layer to eating out in Totnes. We are not local and visit from kent every six months or so. Please try it !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 150 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Where to start?? What an absolutely wonderful foody pub. We were on a day out in Totnes, and wasnt really impressed by the cost of most of the meals at other establishments, so popped into the William. we were very warmly welcomed by a young chap behind the bar, he explained that they had been open 3weeks and 1day. The decor was light and made the room look spacous, the furnishings were comfortable and clean. We looked at the menu and decided to have the meat platter and the cheese platter, both of which i would higly recommend! the waitress/manager was so lovely, chatty, efficient, very very good! the homemade hummus and aoili theat we requested were to die for and went so well with the platters!! My only regret was not having more to eat! I'll definitely be back!!

Sadly the rooms werent ready else we wouldve stayed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffdoubleff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Called in for a drink last week when on holiday. Had'nt been in for a couple of years as the place had become very "tired".
What a suprise ! Complete redecoration ,new furniture and fittings .
Shame we had just eaten , as the food delivered to the table next to us looked amazing.
Lovely greeting fom the new landlady and landlord .
We will definately return on our next trip down in May.
Keep it going !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have only lived in Devon 12 months and visit Totnes regularly for shopping etc and normally end up at the Seven Stars for lunch. ( often with our frequent visitors )
Last week we decided to look in the recently refurbished King William, well, the welcome was fantastic, we were sorted for drinks quickly and invited to look at the new menu, which was interesting and a bit different from the norm.
We were only eating light that day, and had a sharing platter of Garlic Bread topped with Chilli & Cheese / Brie & Bacon / Tuna Cheese - superb quality, loads for 2 and only £5,95.
saw other food coming out which also looked great.
I can only thank the nice couple who hosted us - they even gave us a menu to bring away for the future.
I cannot give enough praise for the hosts, the atmosphere and the food and drinks - good luck to for the future we are going back tonight

Customers from Galmpton

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8bzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

i was walking a long the high st and i spotted the king william 1v,so i popped in for a drink,the beer was good and so was the service the staff were friendly and so were the locals,the owner was talking to some people who were staying there they were laughing so it must be a nice place to stay when visiting totnes,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The owners are very friendly. The rooms are comfortable with a clean en-suit. I couldn't ask for more from a one night hotel stay. Great local feel to the place. Good place to stay if you're exploring Totnes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 28Lozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Popped in for a pint on Friday lunchtime. Friendly locals and great barman. Visited as a day tripper from Bath, Somerset to visit the Funkiest Market. My local beer Gem was on tap at £2.50 a pint. It was spot on. Absolute bargain..but don't say in front of the locals!! Contemporary decor and central position makes this place a-must-visit cool place for a relaxing drink. Shall visit again next Friday with a few friends and hopefully some more Gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordSaltfordBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.1 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 28 in Totnes
244 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
942 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 6 in Dartington
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William IV Hotel

Address: 45 Fore Street, Totnes TQ9 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range: $101 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King William IV Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town centre pub. All rooms en suite.WIFI. Excellent menu, Daily specials. Menu available lunchtimes and evenings. Sunday 12 noon -8 pm. Friday and Saturday and holidays we offer Sandwiches, cakes and light snacks in the afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your King William IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William IV Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing