We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tasteful re-furb, hosts welcoming and excellent food & beers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King William IV Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Totnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have only lived in Devon 12 months and visit Totnes regularly for shopping etc and normally end up at the Seven Stars for lunch. ( often with our frequent visitors )
Last week we decided to look in the recently refurbished King William, well, the welcome was fantastic, we were sorted for drinks quickly and invited to look at the new menu, which was interesting and a bit different from the norm.
We were only eating light that day, and had a sharing platter of Garlic Bread topped with Chilli & Cheese / Brie & Bacon / Tuna Cheese - superb quality, loads for 2 and only £5,95.
saw other food coming out which also looked great.
I can only thank the nice couple who hosted us - they even gave us a menu to bring away for the future.
I cannot give enough praise for the hosts, the atmosphere and the food and drinks - good luck to for the future we are going back tonight

Customers from Galmpton

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8bzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

i was walking a long the high st and i spotted the king william 1v,so i popped in for a drink,the beer was good and so was the service the staff were friendly and so were the locals,the owner was talking to some people who were staying there they were laughing so it must be a nice place to stay when visiting totnes,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The owners are very friendly. The rooms are comfortable with a clean en-suit. I couldn't ask for more from a one night hotel stay. Great local feel to the place. Good place to stay if you're exploring Totnes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 28Lozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Popped in for a pint on Friday lunchtime. Friendly locals and great barman. Visited as a day tripper from Bath, Somerset to visit the Funkiest Market. My local beer Gem was on tap at £2.50 a pint. It was spot on. Absolute bargain..but don't say in front of the locals!! Contemporary decor and central position makes this place a-must-visit cool place for a relaxing drink. Shall visit again next Friday with a few friends and hopefully some more Gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordSaltfordBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If like me you're tired of impersonal, anonymous accommodation, then this is a great place. It's eccentric (in a good way) and all the pub staff were incredibly welcoming and made us feel at home. There are a few things to be sorted out like a temperamental TV, which didn't bother me. A few reviews mention noise so maybe we were just lucky as it was quiet at night. Breakfast was great and even better, not served at an unearthly hour. We asked for breakfast at 10am which they were happy to do. Food was fresh, well prepared and with generous servings and available throughout the day. The location is great, right on the high street and about halfway up the hill so you don't have to drag yourself up the entire high street at the end of a busy day. Clean, comfortable rooms with good sized en suite bathrooms. Will always be my first choice in Totnes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fotherington-Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the William IV for two nights and were made extremely welcomed. All the staff couldn't do enough for us, they even carried our bag to the car. The room we stayed in was light well furnished and clean. The breakfast was enormous and set us up for the rest of the day. We will certainly go back there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. It is on the corner of the main street in Totnes, so not the quietest of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

When I phoned to book the room the guy that answered the phone did say it was a noisy pub and that they played loud music until 11.30pm - that would have been fine. The extremely loud music continued until 3am, it was so loud our bed vibrated. Also, because our windows were directly above the entrance, the drunk smokers (I don't have a problem with drunk smokers - I've been there!) were all talking very loudly until gone 3am.

The room itself was light, pleasant and the bed comfortable although the carpet could have done with a bit of a vacuum. We checked out on the Saturday morning without breakfast and paid a reduced price (not as much as we probably should have but we were too tired to argue). The guy who checked us out was apologetic and said he was always very clear about the noise level and was surprised I had been told the music finished at 11.30pm.

This is local's party pub which is fine if you want to join in - unfortunately we didn't.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank SN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.1 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 28 in Totnes
244 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dartington
942 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 6 in Dartington
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William IV Hotel

Address: 45 Fore Street, Totnes TQ9 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range: $101 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King William IV Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town centre pub. All rooms en suite.WIFI. Excellent menu, Daily specials. Menu available lunchtimes and evenings. Sunday 12 noon -8 pm. Friday and Saturday and holidays we offer Sandwiches, cakes and light snacks in the afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your King William IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William IV Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing