We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

The Orange Tree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $61
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine dining restaurant within easy walking distance of Torquay harbour, offering modern British-European cuisine using fresh local produce. A single seating policy allows you to relax and enjoy your evening without feeling rushed.
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice restaurant and staff though service was a little slow as there was only two staff on to serve the whole of the restaurant which ultimately was not an issue as dining here was a pleasure.

Nice touches with freshly baked bread, olives on the table and jugs of water, Good food though the fish main course portion we had was on the small side but was very tasty.

Best part for both of us were the starters and desserts - both courses were delicious !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    87
    30
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Came here to celebrate a major wedding anniversary on the recommendation of Cary Court Guest House where we were staying. They made the booking on our behalf and we were very glad they did! An excellent evening was spent consuming first class food and wine and the evening ended with a plate of petit fours suitably decorated to celebrate our anniversary. Service is efficient and friendly if ‘leisurely’, but the table is yours for the evening and provided you are not in a hurry, a pleasantly relaxing evening may be had. The menu is not long, but the offerings are very good. It is not recommended for anyone wanting ‘fast food’ in any sense of the phrase! Would certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrCoureur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my husband for our wedding anniversary. Absolutely everything was perfect. The food was presented beautifully and tasted superb, the service was friendly and warm. The atmosphere was just great. Will be returning soon for sure and have already recommended to friend and family. Special touch as well with a plate presented after our meal. Many thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KileyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional restaurant serving contemporary english cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having been recommended this restaurant we were disappointed not to be able to get a table when we walked in on the first day of our holiday, so immediately booked for the following evening. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and we will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special occasion don't hesitate just book it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went here for my 50th Birthday and Restaurant did not disappoint in any way. Food was excellent, cooked to perfection, staff were very professional & pleasant. What a fantastic romantic evening we had, something to remember, if ever visiting Torquay again we will definitely eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange Tree Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Orange Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing