We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

The Orange Tree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 347 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $62
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant within easy walking distance of Torquay harbour, offering modern British-European cuisine using fresh local produce. A single seating policy allows you to relax and enjoy your evening without feeling rushed.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Simply perfect. Thanks to all who made my mothers holiday here such a terrific last day for her. Will certainly be returning

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    92
    30
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
workington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening,food fit for a Lord!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had looked at this restaurant on line before our trip to Torquay and managed to get the last table available for our chosen night. We were not disappointed. The service is exceptional, attentive but not intrusive. The food is wonderful. I had the crab bisque with scallops and can honestly say it was the best I have ever tasted , my fillet steak was wonderful. We even had a lovely decorated plate with our petit fours as I had mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. The staff are lovely and I even had a chat to the chef , who also happens to be the proprieter, to pass on my appreciation. Will most certainly visit again the next time I am in Torquay

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andnot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place;-)”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.Lovely food,Fantastc service,just perfect.If you want to eat there just remember to book the table in advance,because they very busy, especially weekends.We would go back again;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monika262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We managed to book a table after reading the great reviews. We were not disappointed the food was amazing and the service was exceptional. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank max5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We tried to book a table on Friday night and was told that they were full. Sandra the proprietor took my phone number and as soon as she had a cancellation she called me back.We arrive 15 minutes early, as they open at 7 and we were made totally welcomed.
We were so happy to that we came and had dinner here. All four of us enjoyed the our main courses as they were beautifully presented, and the fish we had was fresh and well cooked. My partner had the fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection. Unfortunately due to time constraint we were not able to do this place the full justice as we would have loved to have the 3 courses. We only manage to have time for the main course.
I will certainly be returning to this restaurant and to have the full three courses.
I would like to thank Sandra and her team for looking after us so well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinPetchThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange Tree Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Orange Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing