We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole experience was fantastic”

The Orange Tree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $63
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant within easy walking distance of Torquay harbour, offering modern British-European cuisine using fresh local produce. A single seating policy allows you to relax and enjoy your evening without feeling rushed.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The whole experience was fantastic”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked a table a couple of weeks prior to our visit to Torquay given it was Easter weekend. We were not disappointed. From the welcome....through to our departure we had a fantastic experience. The bread served prior to our meals was delicious..so much so we ordered seconds ! The starters and mains we had were all divine and the service impeccable. We genuinely cannot think of a single thing that could have been better. On balance (see my review of the Old Vienna) the Orange Tree just shaded it in terms of the best experience of the Easter Weekend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeljohnlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    92
    30
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wanted to have good food in a quiet environment so I could catch up with family. The service was excellent, just enough to make sure everything was OK but not enough to be invasive. The food was all home cooked and beautifully presented. There was plenty of choice and the restaurant has an excellent choice of wines. It's not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for and it's worth it. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 471sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely food , waitress intimidating”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to the orange tree to celebrate two birthdays , the restaurant is lovely, the food was superb but I was put off by one of the waitresses who made me feel like I was back at school, and not worthy to eat there ! We decided against starters as having read the menu online beforehand the desserts looked nicer , we were made to feel cheap because of this ! I don't understand the need to clear white wine glasses and starter cutlery if not being used interuppting our conversation several times. The food was cooked to perfection but the atmosphere was spoiled by not feeling comfortable

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jobrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had dinner here on Friday 22nd, it was our parents 30th wedding anniversary. The staff were more than accomodating as our parents are elderly and disabled, they placed on a table just inside the door and made sure that we did not get a cold draft by drawing the door curtain. The staff were lovely and attentive. The food was outstanding, i had pork tenderloing and it was delicious. The food was cooked to perfection. The staff were knowledgeable about their menu and about the wine and suggested a lovely bottle of wine. At the end of the meal they presented a plate with "happy anniversary" on it which was a lovely surprise. All in all i cant wait to go back again and eat here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Annual Treat”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have a tendancy to visit the Orange Tree for a special occasion and have never been disappointed. This was our 5th visit. The food is mainly sourced locally and we had steak and venison which were cooked to perfection. Good choice of vegetables. Lovely bread,to eat while we were waiting for our goats cheese tartlets to arrive. Excellent choice of wines at varying prices.Staff were pleasant,although the room could have been a bit warmer,this aside we had a lovely time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsonDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange Tree Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Orange Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing