We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angels is a delight to behold”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Angels

Angels
Ranked #16 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Angels is a perfect place for Devonshire Cream Tea looking onto the seafront in Babbacombe. Very popular with the locals and recommended to holiday makers.
Mortain, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Angels is a delight to behold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have to say that I have been here several times and the staff are just fabulous they assist you in every way possible. Just a little message to the owner MR. whoever. Your staff are brilliant they do you credit stay out the back you make me feel uneasy when you come in and start directing things.
I personally think its one of the best places I have taken a cream tea in ages. I love travelling down from Bath knowing I am going there. o

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bathford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    145
    47
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cream teas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this tea room by a local restaurant owner. We weren't disappointed! We had a lovely Devonshire cream tea here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sapphireflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful food and views to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Angels is one of those places where you can sit and admire the spectacular views accross lyme bay , the food is excellent although presentations a bit fussy for my taste (but thats a minor moan) try itonce and you will be back this is deffinately the best little cafe for miles around

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LORNA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were recommended 'Angels' and it didn't disappoint. The food was fresh and tasty and beautifully presented, we had an Angels Tea (scones and sandwiches) although they do have hot meals if you want. The bone china used was quirky as nothing really matches but this added to the charm and old fashioned tea room feeling you get from eating here. The selection of sandwich fillings was so many that it was difficult to choose from. The location is beautiful overlooking Babbacombe Downs and the sea. On a lovely sunny day it was great as we could sit outside. If visiting Torbay 'Angels' is a must for a cream tea however we would recommend to book as it can get busy and very hard to get a table plus it is obviously a locals haunt which is always a good sign. The staff were friendly and patient even though they were very busy

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glevummagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Angels is probably the best small restaurant in the whole of Torbay. This is reflected in the fact that in most cases you have to book to get a table. Good food & wonderful service from the staff. On top of all of this the restaurant has a fantastic view over Babbacombe Bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angels also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Angels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing