We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
10 minute walk away
Portion of main stair case - another staircase below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Licclelin...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning house”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay in Number Nine. Beautifully decorated, bags of space, well equipped kitchen and bar area.
Beds so comfy, there were 16 of us and it didn't feel crowded at all.
Hot tub and out door area lovely,.
Welcome pack on arrival , it's the little things and attention to detail that made it a fabulous find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brilliant entertaining space and the attention to detail in the house was outstanding
Liked least: The walk up the hill from town if I'm being really picky
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinej...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Well Equipped House”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and 10 friends booked Number Nine for a weekend away, we are all school friends from the Class of 77 and come away together every year!! We have stayed in lots of different houses over the years but have to say that Number Nine definitely rates amongst the very best - if not the best! House was amazing, beautifully presented and really well equipped with loads of plates, glasses, cutlery etc. plus a Sky Plus box in both the upstairs lounge and the "den" downstairs where we all enjoyed watching Strictly on Saturday evening! The hot tub was great fun, and many glasses of bubbly were consumed therein! Torquay itself is a great place to visit, lots of beautiful coastal walks, boat trips, the Torquay "Eye" together with plenty of bars and restaurants. The House does have a lot of stairs as well as being up a hill from the town so probably not very suitable for anyone with mobility problems, but otherwise I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinseog L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing time here - not only is the surrounding area breathtaking and so much fun to walk around and play outdoor games in, the house itself is otherworldly beautiful. The whole building is designed like a series of social spaces (with some really cool lighting in the basement rooms) and although you have privacy in your own room, there was nowhere else in the house where you felt isolated from the rest of the group. Everything from how to use every bit of the house to things to do in the area was explained in a welcome folder on arrival (with a bottle of prosecco <3) and it was a really stress-free relaxing trip. It was about the most comfortable place we've stayed in and we couldn't have asked for lovelier and more generous hosts. Definitely hit this place up for an incredible holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing bathrooms
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was beautiful and has the WOW factor.
We were a group of 12 young ladies and we felt very spoilt in the lovely surroundings.
The open plan kitchen/dining and lower lounge area are perfect for group entertaining and the numerous bedrooms meant we could all rest comfortably in lovely decor.
We would certainly recommend this house for a large group or families.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiesE3...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place for large family gathering”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Leann the owner was tremendously well organised from the minute the booking was made down to our arrival. We had a lovely welcome pack way above the usual which was a real treat. The property is exceptional. Beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout with lots of extras. There were 12 of us with an age range 20 to 81 plus dogs! And the house easily accommodated all of our needs. The grand lounge was brilliant for the ladies to watch their soaps and movies, whilst the menfolk loved the den which they nicknamed the mancave. The kitchen wad really well equipped and the bar area a real plus. We loved the whirlpool and BBQ area. Hard to fault it. It was within easy access to beaches, the town centre and it was right on a bus route. There are a lot of stairs but there way in which the house has been designed made it very easy to manage. The bedrooms are lovely and the beds sooo comfy. Would definitely recommend a stay here. We would definitely stay there again.

Debbie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exceptional layout and internal design
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfstar1...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful house in the most perfect location ”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is really quite something, I brought my family here for a long weekend in May and we were all very impressed.
The house is huge and is wonderfully equipped, I've never seen so many bedrooms and bathrooms.. the kitchen and bar in the basement are brand new and very modern and spacious. Just awesome!!

The weather was amazing and the house is just 5 mins walk to the main town centre and marina.

When we are back in torquay, we will be staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCP198020...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I had booked this beautiful house with the view to just using it as a base whilst exploring South Devon whilst on a visit from New Zealand. The days that we had nothing planned we struggled to leave this amazing house with all the luxury's you would ever need with a great fire place, cheese board, spa pool, and all within walking distance to the main town, so if you do have a wine or two too many you do not have far to wiggle back home to all the comforts you need. Looking forward to another visit in the next couple of years. Thank you Geoff & Leeane for being great hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Spa pool, bedroooms, fireplace!
Liked least: Not staying long enough
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing