We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful family stay at St-George”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of St George cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inspirati...
1 review
“A delightful family stay at St-George”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a wonderful week with our 2 toddlers in this beautiful cottage. It is perfectly furnished and the decoration is tasty. The localisation is great as well : by the seaside and near many activities suitable for children (Kent Caverns, Steam train, natural walks along waterfalls, zoo, lovely cities all around...). The owner is absolutly nice : we didn't meet much (as we are by our own in the cottage) but she did everything to make us feel confortable and welcomed - our boys were even received with surprises, what a joy ! We will definitively try to come back - and walk the coastal path ! Tessa thank you so much for these nice holidays ! (Sorry for swiss english :-/)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
You are welcome to return, Anne and family. Congratulations on your English too. Glad the cottage and the location gave you a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueJHeref...
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a wonderful week at St George cottage with our two grandchildren aged 9 and 10. The cottage was described as awesome by 10 year old Jack. We have stayed in several self catering cottages and this was definitely the best.
Every detail was considered. There were supplies of milk, tea and coffee In the cottage. The sitting room was comfortable and warm in the chilly evenings, with a large flat screen TV and DVD player. Each of the two bedrooms had its own en suite bathroom. (This delighted the children.)
Our double room had a sea view and a beautiful bay window. The small garden at the front was a lovely space to sit and enjoy the early evening sun.
From the moment we arrived and discovered chocolates and bubble wands to the day we sadly had to leave, we felt welcome and very much at home. Tessa was very helpful when we could not get the TV channels, but it turned out to be an atmospheric problem.
We were able to park safely off the road and the downs really are about a one minute walk. We loved being able to walk to the beaches at Babbacombe and Oddicombe, but the climb back is seriously steep. (We took the cliff railway!)
There are so many attractions nearby, we did not need to drive far at all and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
This cottage scores on every level; location , amenities and comfort and cleanliness.
I hope we can return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
These were perfect guests, really appreciative and courteous in every way. The house was left spic and span and we would love to welcome them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion...
1 review
“Perfect well equipped cottage”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is our second stay at this super cottage.It is so comfortable and perfectly placed to enjoy all the area has to offer.
The owner is fabulous and goes that extra mile to ensure that everything is perfect .Can't wait for our next trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
It's guests like Sharon who inspire me to continually make improvements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great place !!”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My mother and sister recently stayed in Babbacombe and I rented the St George's cottage, what a fantastic lovely place for my family to stay in, everything you could wish for, very clean with all amenities even a stair lift for my partially disabled mother which was a huge bonus, I must congratulate the owners on such a well presented cottage that has been modernised to a high standard ! If you want to stay in a beautiful place in a great cottage then this is a must to consider, thanks to the owners once more, my mother and sister will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
When I hear this sort of review, it makes it all the more enjoyable and we love adding improvements each year.
Thanks for being lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelajoy...
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE IN PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

St. George Cottage was an excellent find for us. It's a very well equipped holiday rental with a lovely home from home feel. Situated very near to the downs in Babbacombe it's close to excellent bus services to all coastal regions in the Torbay region, It was good to leave the car behind and enjoy the beautiful coastal scenery. There are a good variety of places to eat to suit all tastes and Angels Tea Room is a must for a Devon cream tea. The Theatre and the Cliff Railway are literally around the corner. The owners are a pleasure to deal with, with nothing to much trouble to you make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. A lovely holiday and a very good all round experience. Would definately recommend to family and friends.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Angela was a terrific guest. She left the cottage even tidier than she found it and obviously worked very hard to leave it nice. What a very very considerate person!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisajtate
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cosy Cottage - Ideal Location for Touring the Area”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved the cottage - it was modern, very clean and cosy and we had everything we required. The owner was very attentive and responded to all of our queries promptly. Excellent service. Room sizes were very generous, all rooms were well-equipped and the furniture was pretty and modern. The thing we liked the least was being opposite a pub which was fairly loud on 3 nights of the week (not every night).

The location of the cottage was ideal for touring the local area and there are some lovely places to visit. The cottage was very central within Babbacoombe. We did not feel however that Babbacoombe itself had an awful lot to offer, in particular for small children. The beach was lovely but there was little else and the shopping area was quite disappointing.

Overall a lovely holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
If you want children's amusements, play park etc, Paignton might be the best centre for you. It is very much geared to families with a funfair, play park , big cinema, arcades etc but it is noisier and less pretty! Horses for courses....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
THANKYOU for this review. We are looking into the DVD player. You would be very welcome to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing