We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Accommodation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JudeHamps...
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ideal Accommodation”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a few nights whilst property hunting, the apartment is very spacious and the facilities are excellent. The hosts are very friendly and keen to know if there is anything else they can do to ensure you have a good stay. The town is within minutes walk of the apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBee1992
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't rate higher!!! ”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

100% the best place we've stayed in 6 years of staying in Paignton and Torquay David and Janet were lush! Couldn't fault them or the apartment! So many homely complimentary additions from there being tea coffee and milk ready and waiting for your arrival to doggy biscuits at the ready for the four legged guests!
Will be returning again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRC93
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment for an English Riviera getaway”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
8
people found this review helpful

Excellent place for a short visit to the English Riviera. The owners, Janet and David, were welcoming from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. I would thoroughly recommend this villa if you're looking to travel to the Torbay area and experience the surrounding areas.
The parking situation was excellent - ample space on a private drive enclosed by high walls and a gate - which meant that there was never any worry with regards to having to find somewhere to park or damage being done to the car.
Being situated so close to the centre of Torquay (and around 10 minutes from the nearest beach) was extremely handy and the variety and amount of shops on offer was a real surprise, meaning we were never really wanting for anything.
With regards to the surrounding areas and things to do, there was plenty on offer. Being keen walkers, we found ourselves not having to take the car out more than a few times over the entire week as there was a great deal to see and do within a walking distance for us. One particularly enjoyable activity was walking all the way from the villa to Brixham via the coastal path, allowing us to enjoy the stunning views as we made our way round. Salcombe and Dartmouth are within an hour's drive and are also thoroughly recommended should you choose to stay in the area. Other attractions include Paignton Zoo which was a surprisingly enjoyable way to spend one of the more overcast days and includes a huge variety of animals to see. There were plenty of restaurants to visit and we would personally recommend Le Bistro Pierre on the seafront of Torquay for some lovely sea views and great food.
In terms of amenities and facilities provided within the property, there was nothing we could think of that we were missing. Towels, an iron and board and a hairdrier were all provided as well as there being a washing machine. A walk in wardrobe provided more than enough space for storage as well as there being plenty of space for the keeping of beauty products at the bedside (not mine!).
The living room is very amply sized and includes a TV and bluetooth speaker. If there was one thing that was perhaps worth mentioning as a potential downfall, it would be the sporadic nature of the Wi-Fi connection, however, this is a minor gripe and it had a negligible effect on our stay.
Overall, we would thorougly reccomend the apartment for couples looking to get away for a week. The enclosed garden would also suit bringing a dog along, as would the number of dog-friendly walks available around the bay area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi-Fi strength
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashliemar...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Basement”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Devon Villa Garden Apartment for a week in August, I hope that this being a basement property would not put some people off. It was spacious light and airy with it's own private safe garden.

On arrival Janet & David were exceptionally warm and welcoming, when we entered the apartment we were surprised at the amount of space on offer. After a look around we could see the place was thoroughly clean, had a high spec finish and had been well thought out. The apartment is well kitted out and had everything we could need. Towels and bed linen were spotless and good quality.The refreshments were a lovely touch including the biscuits and water for our small dog. The secure parking for the car was a bonus and the wonderful garden a luxury. Sitting in the evening sun sipping a glass of wine or the morning sun drinking coffee was delightful.

The apartment is ideally situated for access to the shops, the harbour bars and restaurants and the beach all being a 5-10 minute walk away.

Although situated on a fairly busy main road the apartment is well shielded from any noise and is a veritable oasis of calm. Minus points could be it being a basement apartment on a busy road, but neither of these affected a wonderful weeks stay and I would advise not to be put off by them or you could miss this great accommodation.

Good luck to Janet and David in the new venture it's sure to be a great success and we look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and garden
Liked least: For a film buff the TV could of been a little larger
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing