We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully decorated, spacious, Modern...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Berkshire...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, spacious, Modern, Comfortable Apartment with all you could need in a great Location!”
Reviewed August 31, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautiful apartment for a week in August for our Summer holiday. It is spacious and very comfortable. The owner welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly. The apartment was ready a bit earlier and we really appreciated the owner phoning us to let us arrive slightly earlier. She has considered everything and is keen to ensure you have a great stay and she will be on hand to help where needed. She is local to Torquay and can recommend many good restaurants or places to visit. The welcome hamper full of treats was a lovely touch-Thank you.

The apartment was spotless and had lots of lovely nautical decorative touches which suited it wonderfully. The kitchen has a dishwasher, coffee machine, microwave and large fridge freezer- all you could need to make meals at home. The lounge was comfy and there were puzzles and games for families and children to play-ideal for rainy days!

The lounge is comfy and the smart tv had many channels and internet access. There was also a dvd player. The balcony was lovely to sit out and admire the view with a cup of tea or glass of wine. The main bedroom had a tv and plenty of storage and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom had a bath a good powerful shower and plenty of towels. The views are really breathtaking from both the lounge and main bedroom. We felt very relaxed and at home here. I simply can not think of any improvements or suggestions as the owner has covered everything!

The apartment is in a great location and was very quiet there during our stay. It's a ten minute walk to Torquay town and the Marina. There was parking available all week on the road outside.

We visited Babacombe Model Village which was good and also Sharphams for a cheese and wine tasting afternoon. This was great and we enjoyed walking around the vineyards. If you want a meal out then Biancos in town is a must! The Italian food is amazing and the Italian staff are very friendly, serving delicious food. We then had a cocktail in town and sat outside by the marina. We took the ferry boat from the marina to Brixham aprox £7 return for two people and had fish and chips there! (ride took about 25 mins each way) There are many good local places around to visit for families or couples.

Would really love to visit here again as the owners are wonderful and there's so much to do here. We had a lovely week and hope to return soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Salty Dog -Torquay ”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to this apartment and really glad we returned. The location is perfect, far enough from Torquay town centre when you want to enjoy the views and relax with a glass of wine on the balcony, but close enough to visit when you want to do something a little more strenuous. The apartment itself is very well appointed with all the facilities you will need for a great stay. The views from the lounge and main bedroom are spectacular, you won't close the curtains! Katie and John are really friendly and ready to offer advice on the area if required. The Orange Tree restaurant is highly recommended if you fancy a special meal and so is the Hole in the Wall pub. To summarise the Salty Dog is a fantastic apartment in a great location with amazing views. Sure you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacatione...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salty dog”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were so very impressed with the salty dog. It's such a fantastic place to stay. The whole place is decorated to a high standard with everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay....including a lovely welcome basket! Fantastic views over torquay harbour and only a short walk to the town centre. I would recommend this place to anyone and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurafitz...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely week at The Salty Dog🐾”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful apartment with superb views overlooking the harbour. Really lovely welcome from the owners Kate and John. Spent a week in August with my Husband and Two daughters age 12 and 16. Visited lots of places during our stay, highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a lovely town”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at The Salty Dog and I have to say that it's one of the best apartments we've stayed in on our holidays (we've stayed in quite a few). The view from the living room is great, and is only bettered by the spectacular view you get from the wide windows in the bedroom. Upon arrival Kate and John had put together a great welcome pack of treats and information, which catered for us adults and our little boy, this was such a nice touch and not something I've experienced anywhere else.
The apartment is lovely, well decorated, light and spacious and is set up over two levels. The kitchen has everything you need and we utilised it for breakfast (everyday), lunch and dinner (some days). The bedrooms are a great size, one double and one twin and the beds are very comfortable.
There are also some creative touches in the apartment that give it a nautical theme, which goes perfectly with the view over the harbour and the beautiful bay.
If you are planning a trip to Torquay, check out The Salty Dog, I can promise that you will receive a great welcome and have a wonderful stay! If I could give more than a 5 I would!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightseer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Stunning views! The property is just beautiful and has clearly had a lot of thought put into it. Every detail has been thought of.
We arrived to a basket full of goodies which was much appreciated after a very late check in.
John was very friendly and approachable. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views - you won't want to leave”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
6
people found this review helpful

My husband & I and our 2 girls decided on a last minute holiday to Torquay, we booked the day before our holiday started but this wasn't a problem at all. We were privileged to be the first people to stay in this amazing apartment.
We were greeted with a very warm welcome and a basket full of delicious treats.
The Salty Dog is an outstanding apartment, the views are spectacular! The whole house has been beautifully decorated and furnished and there are many carefully created craft items. The apartment is very spacious and quiet, I loved the open plan kitchen, dining, lounge area which led onto the wonderful balcony. We all felt very relaxed and at home, the beds were very comfortable, the towels were soft, the house was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well equipped. There were books, dvds, puzzles, cards, even a colouring book and pens, there was nothing that we could of wished for to make our holiday more complete.
Having breakfast on the balcony was a real treat, followed by a walk to the beach to explore the rock pools. We enjoyed a game of crazy golf in the park also a walk to Kents Cavern where we had a guided tour and a cream tea. For those who aren't so keen on the beach there are lots of shops very close by and also a cinema which we visited. The theatre is directly below the apartment and is a nice treat if there is something you want to see. We parked in Warren Road just along from The Salty Dog, we didn't need the car all week. Torquay is a great holiday destination with plenty of things to do to keep the whole family happy.

I highly recommend The Salty Dog, it is a superb apartment with breathtaking views and you definitely won't want to leave! We hope to return very soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular views from the master bedroom and balcony!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing