We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Ranked #50 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a last minute weekend at the Babbacombe Palms Guest House.

Although it was low season the guest house was very well presented, clean and welcoming.

Very comfortable en suite room and great breakfast served when and how we wanted.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just returned from a four night break over the New Year period. We found this to be an exceptional guest house and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We could not fault anything. Our double en-suite room was decorated to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. The proprietors, Mark and Tracy made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed their company enormously. The breakfasts were lovely - a good choice of cereals and fruit to start with, followed by a delicious cooked breakfast. We were always offered more toast, tea or coffee. Mark and Tracy were always available to answer any questions we had about places to visit, eat etc and provided many leaflets and guides which proved very helpful. We are already planning to visit Babbacombe again this year and would not consider staying at any other B and B, as you really could not find a nicer place. Thank you again Mark, Tracy and Michael.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 581Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hi Mark And Tracey & Michael I would like to start bye saying thank you, my Room was cleaned on a daily basis Very clean and always had a nice fresh towels and tea and coffee was always full my Breakfast requirements was taken on arrival and breakfast was cooked to a high standard, one of the things I had was a good breakfast sausages and eggs and bacon and there is more to choose from if you like which is a good thing and the owners are very friendly and welcoming, and the accommodation is extremely comfortable and good value for money. There was no noise at night so I had a great sleep and the guesthouse is very close to the local shops, pubs etc. I will be coming back here, I have recommended it to family and friends already and I will add, nothing was to much trouble. Would I visit again Yes thank again Mark

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Exceptional guest house, fantastic proprieters, immaculate surroundings. It really is a fantastic place to stay and veryconvenient location for all that Babbacombe and Torbay have to offer.
Stayed her twice this year what more is their to say.
I would highly recommend to couples and families alike having recently visited with my wife, daughter, son in law and 2 grand children.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an equal high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went as a family group ( 3 rooms) at the end of October and found this guest house to be very nice. The owners Tracy & Mark made us all very welcome from the moment we arrived and nothing seemed too much trouble. Mark even offered to collect my brother and his wife from the railway station if they go there again as they do not drive. Top marks for customer service here !

The breakfast was perfectly prepared to even my exacting standards ( fussy ) with well done bason and soft runny eggs ( thats how like it !
The romms are very clean , comfortable and are as you would expect from this type of guest house of this age. Tea & Coffee in rooms with a flat screen TV. Drinks available from the bar.
Very close to cliff railway and beach, shops , banks , pubs, cafes etc.
al in all a very pleasant stay even the weather in October turned out nice.
As a guest house of this genre it comes well recommended by us.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Zygnema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Couldn't do enough for us, immaculate, comfortable room, great facilities, great quality breakfast and choice. Would recommend and will be returning. A great location as 5 min stroll to Babbacombe and 1/2 he walk to Torquay harbour. Taxi fare reasonable to Torquay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at the ' Babbacombe Palms '.
Mark & Tracey were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Food was great and plenty of it.
Room was spotless and very comfortable.
We will definitely be returning !
Thanks to Mark, Tracey & Michael.

Jeff & Linda

Room Tip: Take your pick, all rooms are A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 86 in Torquay
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 86 in Torquay
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#67 of 150 in Torquay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#46 of 150 in Torquay
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#41 of 150 in Torquay
378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Palms Guest House

Address: 2 York Road, Torquay TQ1 3SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $69 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Palms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this small family run licensed guest house which has been acredited with a Visit Britain 4 star rating, and where comfort and cleanliness is assured. Quietly situated only 200 yards from the beautiful Babbacombe Downs and the magnificent views out over the spectacular coastline and beaches of Lyme Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Babbacombe Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Palms Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing