We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silverlands Guest House
Ranked #31 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just came back from a single night stay at Silverlands. Can't say enough about how pleasant and friendly the owners were. We were asked about our requirements for breakfast and then showed to our room, (some owners can't always be bothered). The room was very comfortable and very clean. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate all available in the room along with biscuits and even a mint on the bed! Plenty of local info in the room and in the reception area. Woke up after a very quiet night sleep, to a beautifully cooked full english breakfast, there were cereals, fruit and yoghurt if you required, all washed down with a selection of fruit juices and or tea and coffee. Sam cooked us a wonderful breakfast in the morning and super friendly considering she had quite a few people to serve. She gave the impression that she genuinely wanted you to have had a good stay. Lovely, thoroughly recommend to ANYONE! My only 'off' comment would be that the decor could do with a little updating but this would be a personal taste thing and obviously didn't spoil our night!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poorparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived just after 8 and were greeted enthusiastically. The couple (sorry Ive forgot your names) were very friendly, explained everything and showed us to our really comfy room. The room was bright and although basic, it had everything we needed, including a quaint little en suite. Breakfast was a filling full English for us served cheerfully by the owner, who also took an interest in our upcoming day. All in all, we would go there again, it's not too far from town, it's virtually opposite Torre railway station if you know the area, and right opposite the bus stops. One quibble; the Internet was down on our visit, but it wasn't their fault and hey we were on holiday so who needs it

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Recently had a 2 night stay at Silverlands, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The B&B is really close to the town centre, walking distance. The hotel room was great- very clean, tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities, tv, lots of information about the surrounding area. The bathroom was also very clean, nice shower. Breakfast was superb - cereals and yoghurts, fresh fruit (grapefruit etc), juices, and the full english breakfast was lovely (and filling!) Sam and Pete (the owners) were very helpful and pointed us in the right direction. Would really recommend the boat trip to Brixham as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Brilliant location, bus stop into town just outside and train station a short walk away. Hotel room was extremely clean, spacious and comfortable with the usual tea/coffee making facilities that you would expect.

The new owners Pete and Samantha are very warm and friendly and always welcoming.

Breakfast was superb - they even have black pudding and hash browns!!!! Yum Yum.

Would highly recommend this Guest House, brilliant time, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Any room in this Guest House is good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Silverlands Guest House and wanted to comment on how pleased with were with our accommodation. Lynne is so welcoming and friendly. Our (family) room was spacious with 2 x single beds and 1 x double and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and hot and Lynne is great with the kids - nothing is too much trouble for her. We will be returning during the summer hols as there is so much to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexmoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Another visit to this excellent Guest House, this time as a couple instead of on my own. Spacious and comfortable room, clean, excellent breakfast and friendly, warm welcome. I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_tripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I regularly visit a friend in Torquay, and, as she has no space to accomodate me, I always choose Silverlands for my stay. I have recently returned from my third visit in as many years and I plan to stay again this September.

Lin and Steve are warm, friendly and welcoming hosts and Lin's cooking is second-to-none. The attractively decorated Breakfast Room is a great place in which to start the day!

The guest rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Many feature en-suite WC, washbasin and shower and all have TV with Freeview. Fresh towels are provided on a regular basis and tea and coffee making facilities - along with biscuits - come as standard. Free Wi-Fi is available too.

Private parking is available at the front of the guest house and a handy bus stop is just outside. Take a little time to admire the flowers and plants around the building too. This family obviously love their garden.

If you are planning a visit to 'The English Riviera', be sure to put this wonderful family-run B&B right at the top of your list. Don't just take my word for it...see for yourself!

Richard (Woking/UK)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#48 of 149 in Torquay
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverlands Guest House

Address: 27 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $73 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverlands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverlands is a warm, friendly, family run hotel in the heart of the English Riviera where we can offer you a comfortable stay with our locally sourced full English breakfast. We have double ensuite rooms and family rooms with free WiFi, freeview TV, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary chocolates on arrival, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and fresh fluffy towels for an enjoyable stay. So whether it's a short stay, business or your summer holiday, we at Silverlands will be pleased to see you.Silverlands is an ideal location for easy access to the conference centre and visitors touring the English Riviera and South Devon's beautiful countryside and coastline. We are within walking distance of Torre Train Station and local buses stop directly outside the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silverlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverlands Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing