We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #32 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed :-)”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Very welcoming and an enjoyable stay overlooking Babbacombe Bay ... even on a wet day in July! Very friendly and an excellent breakfast too. Can't fault the hotel. For evenings we tended to eat at the Masons Arms ... a bit of a walk but great food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nictheclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
193
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We have just returned from a trip to Torquay where we stayed at The Downs, Babbacombe and we miss our balcony already. Sitting out in the evening watching the sun set over the sea was bliss. Babbacombe is a really peaceful and pretty area... lovely pubs and beer gardens full of flowers, long walks with fab views. Our dog Lilly was made to feel very welcome and we were able to eat breakfast on our balcony which we really appreciated. We only stayed for three days and on the last evening we booked in for an evening meal... I had the most delicious home made vegi lasagne ever and Neil said his lambs shanks were gorgeous. The owners and staff in the hotel are lovely and we would love to return. A very relaxing break, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

my fiance and i have just spent 3 nights in the downs and are very happy we chose that hotel, Our room was clean and nicely decorated. it had pictures of the local area on the walls and the biggest bed ive ever slept in. the best thing about the room was the amazing view over sea. we had a little table and chairs on the balcony and sat looking out over the cliffs for hours. the area around the hotel was very clean but if you want to get to the sea you need some hiking boots because its a very steep climb through a wooded area. the only thing wrong was we couldnt connect to the internet unless you were downstairs. Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfwfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

second visit wont be our last have already booked to go again ,
kate and ed are such good hosts friendly and very helpful and so are the staff they
all make you very welcome us and the dog.
the hotel is in a wonderful position and views to die for, food is excellent esp the steak
would recomend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zennaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Be careful not to book too far in advance if your plans may change. The cancellation policy states a full refund will be given if you cancel prior to 48 hours. However, in an entirely diffent section, hidden amongst 6 or 7 other charges there is a vague statement about deposits are non-refundable. This caught me by surprise and I had to eat one night's charge plus an admin fee. They should have all info about cancelation fees in the same section, not spread about.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dwyerkpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downs43, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
We are sorry that this gentleman was unable to understand our terms and conditions prior to booking. We have communicated with him privately prior to his posting this poor review offering to provide the necessary paperwork so he can claim this cost from his travel insurance company. He has not responded to this offer. We would urge any prospective guests to contact us for full clarification if there are terms they are unclear about BEFORE making a booking. We would also suggest that terms and conditions are fully read BEFORE making a booking. Our terms and conditions are written to be as clear and unequivocal as is possible. In addition to being on our website a copy of our terms and conditions are sent to all customers by return email or post regardless of whether they have booked directly or online and clearly state our deposit and cancellation policy. There is no room for ambiguity. It is usual practice for small family run hotels such as our to charge a nominal non-refundable deposit in order to discourage speculative booking practices. Unfortunately without enforcing this policy to discourage speculative booking, small family run establishments will cease to exist. In this instance the gentleman informed us some 3 weeks after the initial booking he needed to postpone his visit to the UK this summer for 'family reasons' but said he would be visiting at a later date. As a goodwill gesture we offered to carry over his deposit to a future booking. He chose not to avail himself of this goodwill gesture. As previously stated our policy of non-refundable deposit is to prevent speculative booking. For a more objective opinion of the hotel may we suggest you read other reviews, or check out the combined reviews on google maps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire Coast
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and I have been coming to Torquay/ Babbacombe since 1963,this is the best yet !Simply called in one day as non residents for a coffee, were impressed, decided to stay next time we came to Devon and so we did. Worth the 300+mile drive to sample the fantastic food and hospitality, and what a location with that view WOW! looking forward to our next visit in November making this 5 times in 2 years , speakes for it`s self does`nt it? Keep up the good work Ed and Kate.p.s Expect a rush of visitors from the North we have told so many people about the Downs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theteaman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Ideally situated with wonderful view, spacious room with balcony. Pet friendly and you could take dog into bar whilst eating. Food plentiful and very good quality. Owners very obliging. Only one minor problem is there was a hen party next door which got a bit noisy but it would appear to have been a one off. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#42 of 149 in Torquay
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#48 of 149 in Torquay
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#47 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#46 of 149 in Torquay
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#61 of 149 in Torquay
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing