We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the seaside!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #33 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carterton, UK
1 review
“Trip to the seaside!”
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I would highly recommend the Downs to everyone! It is a relaxed and family friendly place to stay. The owners Kate and Ed were super hosts and did everything they could to make our stay really enjoyable.
The room was excellent and with 4 of us there was still plenty of space to move around so we didn't feel crammed in as a family.
We had a 10 month old but that was no problem and the owners did all they could to accommodate him as well (cots, high chairs and food etc).
We can't wait to go back again.
Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lostmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
88
188
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

A great weekend break in a friendly family atmosphere. The homemade cooking was excellent, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. We had evening meals both nights, which were made from local produce.
We have a young family and they were made very welcome all through our stay.
The position of the Hotel is convenient with breath taking views.
Would recommend to anyone who wants a home from home holiday/break with first class service-nothing was too much bother from proprietors.

  • Liked — Situation of Hotel and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BusyMum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2008

The Downs is a warm welcoming palce to stay. The food is excllent and the accommodation was wounderful. They had excellent cleaning services. Ed and Kate and their staff was fantastic and nothing was ever a problem if you asked for something to be done. I would stay there again and recommend The Downs friends and family.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RY4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We had a cracking week in Devon, based ourselves at The Downs Hotel and visited all the sites, Kents Cavern etc. Kath and Ed are wonderful people who couldn't do anymore to make our stay so relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfast.... not to be missed if you like your fry ups! Coming back for Xmas. The Reids, Wirral

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iwanttolivedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2008

What a lovely find. We stayed, sadly, for only one night in this family run hotel. Our rooms, 2 sea view balcony doubles, were very clean with super king size beds and very clean ensuite bathrooms. The views really took your breath away. We opted for dinner and enjoyed some of Kate's hearty home cooking which was pipping hot and delicious and at a very affordable cost - we had 3 large courses - with cheeseboards to die for. After a great nights sleep, a combination of sea air and comfortable bed, we enjoyed breakfast which was very fresh and again plentiful. We were made to feel very welcome and hope to return soon.

  • Liked — The Hospitality & Cleanliness and of course the views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellersfriendUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

A lovely hotel with excellent proprietors. My wife and I stayed for a week with my wife's mother and greatly enjoyed the stay. The owners Kate and Ed are naturals to this industry. Nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel very much at home. The breakfast is very good, served in a large bright and airey dining room. The rooms, although small, were very clean and bright with fantastic views of the bay. The on site availability to all day ice cream and cream teas need to be rationed when staying for a week!! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Great hotel friendly and welcoming, food good, nothing too much trouble. Would recommended to anyone and will go back. Views from rooms great to wake up to.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treacle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#44 of 149 in Torquay
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#47 of 149 in Torquay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#42 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#45 of 149 in Torquay
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#56 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing