We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home from home atmoshphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downs, Babbacombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #36 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home atmoshphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

A great weekend break in a friendly family atmosphere. The homemade cooking was excellent, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. We had evening meals both nights, which were made from local produce.
We have a young family and they were made very welcome all through our stay.
The position of the Hotel is convenient with breath taking views.
Would recommend to anyone who wants a home from home holiday/break with first class service-nothing was too much bother from proprietors.

  • Liked — Situation of Hotel and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BusyMum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    40
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
177
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

The Downs is a warm welcoming palce to stay. The food is excllent and the accommodation was wounderful. They had excellent cleaning services. Ed and Kate and their staff was fantastic and nothing was ever a problem if you asked for something to be done. I would stay there again and recommend The Downs friends and family.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RY4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

We had a cracking week in Devon, based ourselves at The Downs Hotel and visited all the sites, Kents Cavern etc. Kath and Ed are wonderful people who couldn't do anymore to make our stay so relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfast.... not to be missed if you like your fry ups! Coming back for Xmas. The Reids, Wirral

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iwanttolivedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

What a lovely find. We stayed, sadly, for only one night in this family run hotel. Our rooms, 2 sea view balcony doubles, were very clean with super king size beds and very clean ensuite bathrooms. The views really took your breath away. We opted for dinner and enjoyed some of Kate's hearty home cooking which was pipping hot and delicious and at a very affordable cost - we had 3 large courses - with cheeseboards to die for. After a great nights sleep, a combination of sea air and comfortable bed, we enjoyed breakfast which was very fresh and again plentiful. We were made to feel very welcome and hope to return soon.

  • Liked — The Hospitality & Cleanliness and of course the views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellersfriendUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

A lovely hotel with excellent proprietors. My wife and I stayed for a week with my wife's mother and greatly enjoyed the stay. The owners Kate and Ed are naturals to this industry. Nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel very much at home. The breakfast is very good, served in a large bright and airey dining room. The rooms, although small, were very clean and bright with fantastic views of the bay. The on site availability to all day ice cream and cream teas need to be rationed when staying for a week!! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

Great hotel friendly and welcoming, food good, nothing too much trouble. Would recommended to anyone and will go back. Views from rooms great to wake up to.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treacle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

Did not like the room. Very un-superior in our view. Our booking said 1st floor, we were on the 2nd. en-suite bathroom and sep. shower cubicle, we just had a shower room, No opening window. Large door to balcony with stunning view of the sea. But could not leave it open at night as no way to fasten it. So very hot in room and had a bad night.. Booked for 2 nights but decided one night was enough. Room was a twin and had 2 beds 2 bedside cabinets TV, a long mirror, and wardrobe. No chest of drawers or dressing table and mirror. No paintings or pictures on the wall. Seemed very drab we did not like it.
The good side, owners very nice. Lovely view of sea from room, good balcony. Quiet location. Very good breakfast. Nice bar.
Bad side, did not like room. considered overpriced for standard. Did not like Babbacombe, coast lovely, but pubs and hotels rather run down. Will not stay there again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — small windowless room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank septemberBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8wud, Owner at The Downs, Babbacombe, responded to this review, June 26, 2008
We are very disappointed to receive a review such as this, especially since the reviewer had indicated that everything was totally satisfactory when shown the room. Had concerns been voiced at the start of the break we could have moved the guest to an alternative room as we did have other rooms available at that time. We were told 'that something had come up' and he 'had to get back' which resulted in the break being curtailed. The guest was asked if everying was fine with the hotel and we were assured that it was. It was only when we advised that, as per our cancellation policy, we would have to charge for the total stay (we eventually waived this 2nd nights charge), we were then advised that the room was unsatifactory because it did not have a window opening onto the balcony, only a glazed door. Prior to this when asked if the stay was enjoyable we were told that everything was fantastic and that we had a great hotel.

To be clear, our aim is to make every guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. This is why we have gone to great expense to redecorate each room in natural tones with new king size beds, new oak furniture, and soon to be delivered new framed photographs of the local area which will adorn each room. We are keen to receive feedback however we can only address this when it is given to us in person - at the time of the stay, rather than us being led to believe everything is fantastic, when in truth we have fallen short of what we endeavour to deliver.

Whilst we appreciate everybodys individal tastes and requirements differ, by reading all reviews posted for us, prospective guests will be able to gain a true and balanced view of how we meet our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#50 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#54 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing