We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #37 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Thank-you Kate, Ed and Lisa. You made us feel most welcome and provided excellent accommodation.Beautiful location and memorable views from our sea front rooms. Expansive beds enabled us to have a good night's sleep after our coastal walking. Our evening meal was a delight and the pork belly roast was something to be savoured. The following morning's breakfast lived up to our expectations.....especially the porridge! One small point to mention was that we felt rushed at the end so that the serve-yourself section could be cleared away. A bit picky of me to mention this as overall the service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend enyone staying at the Downs to look no further for their evening meal....beautifully cooked and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The sea front rooms are worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 384 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Recently returned from a great 5 day break at the Downs Babbacombe and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in visiting this beautiful area. We received a warm welcome from the Owners, Kate and Ed, which is just what you need when you have been on the motorway for 6 hours. Our room was very clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated with high quality furnishings (a firm bed and good pillows) and we had a beautiful sea view from our balcony. As dog owners we holiday a lot in Britain and have stayed in many establishments which have given us second rate 'dog friendly' rooms where the furnishings have been shabby or of poor quality. It was nice to stay in a hotel where our pet was welcome in any of the guest rooms, offering us the same quality stay as non dog owners. The food was top quality and we especially enjoyed our breakfast as the menu offered such a wide choice. To sum up, we had a brilliant stay thanks to Kate, Ed and the staff at The Downs and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My Husband & I have just returned from The Downs & found that this is a jewel on the south coast .Overlooking the sea.Lots to see and do in the area. Kate & Ed & all their staff were absolutely brilliant, always asking if there is anything else they could do for us. All of the rooms & bedrooms were spotlessly clean. They are all tastefully decorated. The beds were lovely and comfortable with lots of thick pillows. Lovely thick white towels & flannels,shower gells, shampoos etc. Flatscreen tv, alarm clock, tea & coffee in the rooms. Lovely breakfasts with lots of choices incl kippers. Kate is a brilliant cook, dont expect to lose weight here.You can even have your meals on your balcony if you want. Very dog friendly. The area outside is mostly dog friendly too. Kate & Ed are wonderful hosts and we will def. be back. Would recommend The Downs to anyone!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor with balcony facing the sea for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaJGreen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just recently spent 4 days at Babbacombe Downs cannot for the life of me understand how or why or anyone would complain about this establishment. To begin with the rooms are very clean, the cleaners themselves do an excellent job and despite having 4 kids returned to a clean and tidy room. The owner Kate+Husband were always so friendly, helpful and kind. My best comments are reserved for the food, the best ever and this being our 14th time to Torquay for us it was quality, quality, quality. The service at meal times was so good we choose to eat our 20th wedding anniversary such was the quality of the service and food. We will defiantly be going back there and would recommend highly to anybody. To anybody who reads this and disagrees they want too go boil there head.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms. Such a good view of the landscape of Babbacombe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Gorgeous location,very warm welcome from kate the owner,spotlessly clean room with lovely white fluffy towels,fine quality white bedding with contrast over cover, (if needed).i loved the shower gel etc it had a lovely fresh perfume.The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with best quality produce used. our little dog was made very welcome & even had her own towel.All in all brilliant.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room with a view across to portland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from our stay in Devon at the Downs Hotel Babbacombe and although choosing probably the worst week in history for weather (It rained constantle for 6 out of 7 days) we were made to feel most welcome by both Kate and Ed who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The room we had was first class with beautiful views accross the bay (when the mist was clear) and the meals were of a 5* catogary especially the breakfast. I would have no hesitation of recommending the Downs Hotel to anyone wanting perfection in a holiday.

Room Tip: If you are slightly disabled as I was, try to be allocated a room on the first floor for although ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alasteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently stayed here and it wasn't exactly as we expected. The area around Torquay seems to cater for the older generation and being a young couple we felt like the odd ones out!! Sitting in the bar area after dinner having a drink and watching a couple play battleships isn't our cup of tea!

The owners are lovely and friendly but we found the accommodation a little tired. The bathroom resembled something out of a caravan and was a squeeze, also the shower had no power! The loud fan and overpowering air freshener was a little annoying! In addition to this the walls were very thin and we could hear a man snoring very loudly both nights. The second night we could hear a loud yapping dog from another room nearby.

The breakfast was good and couldn't fault the service.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clairebear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
8.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#64 of 85 in Torquay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#36 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#50 of 149 in Torquay
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#55 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $86 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing