We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a great break with Quality service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed at the downs for a short break with our kids and found a very warm welcome with clean well preesnted accomodation. The service and quality was excellent, whilst the suroundings were contempory the attention to customer satisfaction was outstanding to todays standards.
We have booked for August and really looking forward to our stay.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 385 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

My family and i had a lovely weekend at The Downs with Ed and Kath , we had teenagers and young children with us, the staff were very helpful, our rooms were all clean and had everything we needed.
The views were amazing, we had great weather , couldn t have asked for more!!
Thanks x

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieMay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a brilliant location, lovely food and excellent service. Would highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zabrina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our room in the hotel was beautiful - tastefully decorated and all the equipment you need to relax and unwind. The stunning views out onto the sea front were great thing to wake up to, followed by a great filling breakfast. the 2 owners are so lovely and genuine and made the holiday so special.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimeemay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the Downs for my father-in-laws 70th Birthday with other family members and had a wonderful weekend.
My husband and i stayed in a family room with our 2 children and dog which we found clean, stylish and comfortable.
The hosts Ed and Kath were lovely and made us very welcome.(kath makes an awesome full english cooked breakfast!!!)
Looking forward to our return visit in August.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezer0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

What a lovely family run hotel. Friendly service from both the proprietors, Ed and Kate and their staff. The accommodation was excellent, bed very comfortable, bathroom and shower clean and with good toileteries and very good towels. The view from the bedroom and private balcony across Lyme Bay were superb to wake up to. A thoroughly enjoyable visit and the return will not be far away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lymebowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The friendliest staff I have been greeted by in an hotel or B&B anywhere! Couldn't fault the room - beautiful decor and a stunning view out onto the sea, with a personal balcony to relax in the spring sun on. Super comfortable beds, breakfast was great and filled my right up! Will definately return!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
8.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,117 reviews
0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#39 of 149 in Torquay
196 reviews
0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#54 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing