We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!! Lovely hotel, clean, beautifully decorated great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Downs, Babbacombe
Ranked #37 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!!! Lovely hotel, clean, beautifully decorated great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

My family and i had a lovely weekend at The Downs with Ed and Kath , we had teenagers and young children with us, the staff were very helpful, our rooms were all clean and had everything we needed.
The views were amazing, we had great weather , couldn t have asked for more!!
Thanks x

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    40
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
181
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a brilliant location, lovely food and excellent service. Would highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zabrina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our room in the hotel was beautiful - tastefully decorated and all the equipment you need to relax and unwind. The stunning views out onto the sea front were great thing to wake up to, followed by a great filling breakfast. the 2 owners are so lovely and genuine and made the holiday so special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeemay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the Downs for my father-in-laws 70th Birthday with other family members and had a wonderful weekend.
My husband and i stayed in a family room with our 2 children and dog which we found clean, stylish and comfortable.
The hosts Ed and Kath were lovely and made us very welcome.(kath makes an awesome full english cooked breakfast!!!)
Looking forward to our return visit in August.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezer0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

What a lovely family run hotel. Friendly service from both the proprietors, Ed and Kate and their staff. The accommodation was excellent, bed very comfortable, bathroom and shower clean and with good toileteries and very good towels. The view from the bedroom and private balcony across Lyme Bay were superb to wake up to. A thoroughly enjoyable visit and the return will not be far away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lymebowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

The friendliest staff I have been greeted by in an hotel or B&B anywhere! Couldn't fault the room - beautiful decor and a stunning view out onto the sea, with a personal balcony to relax in the spring sun on. Super comfortable beds, breakfast was great and filled my right up! Will definately return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

An ideal place to hold a function. We stayed with our extended family for a weekend. The service and standard of catering and accomodation was fantastic. The staff were very polite and helpful and the owners Ed and Kate could not do enough for us all. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed with superb views across the bay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123madhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#49 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#44 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#33 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Property: The Downs, Babbacombe
Address: 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* GOLD Visit Britain with Breakfast Award 2015 and 4* GOLD AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2015. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing